Three Lobos Named To All-MWC Women's Soccer Team
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  11/02/2005
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Nov. 2, 2005

LAS VEGAS - The Mountain West Conference announced its 2005 women's soccer awards last night at its pre-championship banquet in Las Vegas. Three players from the University of New Mexico, juniors Alanna Abeyta (defender), Ashley Lowery (defender) and Kristine Sweat (forward), were named second team all-MWC by the league's eight head coaches. The MWC soccer championship tournament begins today at 12:30 p.m. (MST) when fifth-seeded New Mexico (6-6-4, 3-3-1 MWC) faces the No. 4 seed Wyoming (8-6-3, 4-3-0) at Peter Johann Memorial Field on the UNLV campus.

The Lobos' trio of all-MWC picks are the most honorees for the team since 2002. All three were honored by the league for the first time in their career, while Abeyta and Lowery are the first UNM defenders named to the all-MWC team since 2001.

Abeyta, a former standout at St. Pius X High School in Albuquerque, started all 16 games this fall and has made 33 consecutive starts over the past two seasons. Lowery (Santa Rosa, Calif.) started 14 of 15 games on the UNM back line and has been in the starting lineup in 48 of her 51 career games. Sweat (Concord, Calif.), meanwhile, led the team with 44 shots and six goals, including three game-winners, in her 16 starts this season.

Junior forward Amanda Feigt of Utah garnered Offensive Player of the Year honors, while Ute junior defender Melissa Wayman earned the Defensive Player of the Year award. Adele Letro of Utah was selected as Freshman of the Year, and Utah coach Rich Manning collected Coach of the Year accolades for the second time at the helm of the Utes. Utah won its second regular-season women's soccer championship this year.

2005 All-Mountain West Conference Women's Soccer Team

First Team
Jaime Rendich Beck, Sr., Midfielder, BYU*
Amanda Feigt, Jr., Forward, Utah**
Melissa Wayman, Jr., Defender, Utah
Tanya Roberts, Jr. Forward, UNLV
Nickie Olson, Sr., Defender, UNLV
Mercy Adetoye, Sr., Forward, Wyoming**
Adele Letro, Fr., Fr., Forward, Utah
Charlene Lui, Sr., Midfielder, BYU
Alexis Solovij, Sr., Defender, San Diego State**
Katie Larkin, Fr., Forward, BYU
Goalkeeper: Jenna Huff, Sr., UNLV*

Second Team
Nicole Anderson, Sr., Defender, BYU
Katie Carney, So., Midfielder, UNLV
Ashley Lowery, Jr., Defender, New Mexico
Kristine Sweat, Jr., Forward, New Mexico

Kara Walters, Sr., Defender, Wyoming
Erika Sutton, Fr., Forward, San Diego State
Brittney Perkowski, Jr., Forward, Air Force
Bobbi Tillotson, Jr., Midfielder, BYU
Alanna Abeyta, Jr., Defender, New Mexico
Karissa Hill, Jr., Defender, TCU
Goalkeeper: Ashley Mason, Jr., Utah

* Indicates repeat first-team selection
** Indicates two-time first-team selection

Offensive Player of the Year: Amanda Feigt, Utah
Defensive Player of the Year: Melissa Wayman, Utah
Freshman of the Year: Adele Letro, MF, Utah
Coach of the Year: Rich Manning, Utah

Monday, August 17
7:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
vs. Fort Lewis (exhibition)
Friday, August 21
5:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
at USC vs. Texas Tech
7:30 PM - 
Women's Soccer
vs. Florida State
Sunday, August 23
10:30 AM - 
Women's Soccer
at USC vs. Florida State
1:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
vs. Texas Tech
Wednesday, August 26
6:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
at New Mexico State
Sunday, August 30
1:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
at Colorado