Lobo Women's Basketball Set To Face Colorado State at MWC Championships
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/06/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 6, 2010

  • 2010 MWC Championship Bracket in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

    COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - TCU (22-7, 12-4) won the 2009-10 MWC regular-season title and enters the Conoco Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship as the No. 1 seed. The MWC Championship will be held at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas on March 9-13.

    BYU (20-8) finished second in the regular-season standings with an 11-5 record and will be the No. 2 seed. San Diego State (18-10) and Utah (19-10) tied for third place in the league standings with identical 10-6 records. According to the tie-breaking procedures, the Aztecs will be the third seed in the tournament while the Utes will be the fourth seed. SDSU and Utah split their regular-season series. In their regular-season series against the Conference team occupying the highest position in the standings (TCU), San Diego State was 1-1, while Utah was 0-2, thus giving the Aztecs the tiebreaker advantage. New Mexico (17-11) and Wyoming (18-10) tied for fifth at 9-7. Under the tiebreaking parameters, New Mexico will get the fifth seed and Wyoming will be the six-seed. The Lobos and Cowgirls split their regular-season games, and their records vs. TCU, which occupies the highest position in the standings, were 1-1 apiece. Moving to the next team that occupies the highest position in the standings, New Mexico posted a 2-0 mark vs. BYU, while Wyoming was 1-1 vs. the Cougars. UNLV (13-17, 6-10) finished seventh in the standings, while Colorado State finished eighth (13-16, 5-11) and Air Force ninth (3-26, 0-16).

    Tuesday's first-round games begin with defending MWC Tournament champion No. 4 Utah and No. 9 Air Force at 2 p.m. PT. The meeting will mark the sixth contest between the two institutions in the MWC Tournament, with the last game resulting in a 67-47 quarterfinal win for the Utes on March 8, 2006. Utah leads the all-time series, 29-0, including a sweep this year. The Utes are 15-7 in the MWC Championship, winning the tournament title three times. The Falcons are 1-10 all-time in the MWC Tournament.

    No. 5 seed New Mexico meets No. 8 Colorado State at 4:30 p.m. MT on Tuesday. This will be the fifth meeting for the two teams in the MWC Tournament. New Mexico holds a 3-1 all-time record over Colorado State in the tournament, with the last meeting resulting in a 62-48 quarterfinal win for the Lobos last year. After splitting this season's regular-season games, the Lobos lead the all-time series, 34-28. New Mexico is a five-time MWC Tournament champion, while the Rams have won one tournament title (2001).

    The final game of the first round will pit No. 6 Wyoming vs. No. 7 UNLV. This will be the second meeting between the teams in the MWC Tournament, with the Lady Rebels defeating the Cowgirls in a 2005 quarterfinal matchup (64-59). UNLV also controls the all-time series, 19-12. The two teams split their regular-season series this season The Lady Rebels are 8-10 all-time in the championship, including one appearance in the championship game (2002). Wyoming is 2-10 in the MWC Tournament.

    San Diego State is the No. 3 seed and will receive a bye into the quarterfinal round. The Aztecs first game will be played against the winner of the Wyoming/UNLV game on Wednesday, March 10 at 7 p.m. PT. After not advancing out of the opening round in the first eight MWC Tournaments, the Aztecs have made two consecutive trips to the championship game. San Diego State is 3-10 all-time in the MWC Championship.

    The Cougars will play as the No. 2 seed for the first time since the inaugural MWC Championship in 2000. Last season, BYU bowed out of the tournament early, suffering a 66-58 defeat to No. 7 seed UNLV in the first round. The Cougars are guaranteed a bye into the semifinal round, with the team's first game being played on Friday, March 12 at 2:30 p.m. PT. BYU has reached the title game six times, winning the championship in 2002. The Cougars are 14-9 all-time in the MWC Tournament.

    TCU will be the No. 1 seed for the first time as a member of the MWC. In the team's four years competing in the Mountain West Tournament, the Horned Frogs have advanced to the semifinals twice. TCU holds a 2-4 all-time record in the tournament, earning wins over Wyoming and Air Force. Last year, TCU lost to UNLV in the quarterfinals (84-75).

    MWC Championship Notes

    - The MWC Championship has produced four different champions in its 10-year history. New Mexico is the only institution to win three consecutive championships (2003-2005) and five overall (2007, 2008), while Utah owns three titles (2000, 2006, 2009). Colorado State (2001) and BYU (2002) each have one title apiece.

    - The No. 1 seed has won the tournament only four times in the last 10 years. New Mexico won the title as the No. 1 seed in 2004 and 2005, while Utah won the championship in 2000 and 2009 as the top seed. Colorado State (2001), New Mexico (2003) and Utah (2006) won as No. 2 seeds. New Mexico is a perfect 5-0 when reaching the title game, while Utah is 3-3, winning in 2006 after falling to the Lobos in 2004 and 2005. The Utes also won the crown in 2009.

    - Six MWC teams have reached the title game. BYU has made an appearance in the championship game in six of the 10 years of the tournament. New Mexico and Utah have advanced to the title game five times apiece, while San Diego State has two appearances Colorado State and UNLV have each been in the championship game once.

    - BYU is the only MWC team to have earned tournament wins over the other eight institutions.

    - The No. 7 seed won its first game ever in the MWC Tournament last season.


    Tuesday, March 9

    2 p.m. First-Round Game #1 No. 4 Utah vs. No. 9 Air Force

    4:30 p.m. First-Round Game #2 No. 5 New Mexico vs. No. 8 Colorado State

    7 p.m. First-Round Game #3 No. 6 Wyoming vs. No. 7 UNLV

    Wednesday, March 10

    4:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #1 No. 4/No. 9 Winner vs. No. 5/No. 8 Winner The Mtn. HD

    7 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #2 No. 3 San Diego State vs. No. 6/No. 7 Winner The Mtn. HD

    Friday, March 12

    Noon Semifinal Game #1 No. 1 TCU vs. Quarterfinal 1 Winner The Mtn. HD

    2:30 p.m. Semifinal Game #2 No. 2 BYU vs. Quarterfinal 2 Winner The Mtn. HD

    Saturday, March 13

    1 p.m. - Championship VERSUS

    All games are Pacific Standard Time


    All session and single session tickets for the Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship are now on sale at the Thomas & Mack Center box office, online and at institutional box offices. Tickets are also available by going to www.unlvtickets.com.


    Five Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship games will be televised. The quarterfinals and semifinals will be televised live on The Mtn. HD. The championship game will be aired live on VERSUS, beginning at 1 p.m. PT.

  • E-News