Lobo Football Has 13 Student-Athletes Named Academic All-MWC
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/10/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 10, 2011

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The New Mexico football program had 13 student-athletes named Academic All-Mountain West Conference today by the league office. The Lobos were honored for their outstanding accomplishments in the classroom. The UNM Players recognized are James Aho, Chris Biren, Brad Gruner, Joseph Harris, Brian Hill, Evan Jacobsen, Spencer Merritt, Cody Neely, Matt Raymer, Lucas Reed, Ben Skaer, Nick Wilhelm and Freddy Young.

"I'm extremely proud of our student-athletes for their commitment in the classroom," said Lobo head coach Mike Locksley. "To receive this honor is a great accomplishment. Academics is a high priority and these men have demonstrated outstanding dedication to academic excellence."

Juniors James Aho and Brad Gruner have earned the award every semester they have attended New Mexico. They are two of seven Lobos who have received the honor multiple times. Chris Biren, Evan Jacobsen, Spencer Merritt, Cody Neely and Nick Wilhelm were named Academic All-MWC in 2009.

To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better, and be a starter or significant contributor on their athletic team.

A total of 386 student-athletes were named to the Fall 2010 Academic All-Mountain West Conference team. Fall sports include men's and women's cross country, football, women's soccer and women's volleyball. New Mexico had 66 student-athletes receive the honor.