Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/26/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 26, 2008

Updated Singles Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Updated Doubles Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

FORT WORTH, Texas - The TCU Horned Frogs rallied to defeat the New Mexico Lobos by a score of 4-3 on Saturday to capture the 2008 Mountain West Conference Men's Tennis Championship at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center. The Horned Frogs (20-7) notched their 20th win of the year, while the Lobos slipped to 20-8.

The Frogs kicked off the match with two dominating doubles victories to jump out to a 1-0 lead. The TCU duo of Zach Nichols and Jack Seider led off with an 8-3 win over Graeme Kassautzki and Joe Wood at the No. 3 position, while Cosmin Cotet and Adrian Simon clinched the point with an 8-2 defeat of Chris and Johnny Parkes at the No. 2 slot.

New Mexico jumped out to a strong start in singles, winning matches at the No. 2, 4 and 5 positions to take a 3-1 lead.

Miles Bugby put the Lobos on the board with a 6-0, 7-5 win over Zach Nichols, improving to 19-14 overall. Chris Parkes followed with a 6-4, 6-1 defeat of Simon at the No. 5 position for a 16-8 mark. Johnny Parkes improved to 21-11 and put New Mexico up 3-1 over the Frogs after defeating Emanu Brighiu by a score of 7-6(6), 6-4 at the No. 2 slot.

Casey Powers began the TCU rally with a 6-4, 6-4 win over Kamil Pajkowksi at the No. 6 position, bringing the Frogs within one at 3-2.

Cotet, ranked No. 36 nationally, continued the Frogs' comeback with a 4-6, 6-1, 6-2 victory over No. 69 Jones at the top spot to even the match at 3-3.

With the tournament title on the line, TCU's Brink delivered with a 5-7, 7-5, 6-4 victory over Kassautzki to seal the match.

With the victory, the Frogs earned the Mountain West's automatic bid to the 2008 NCAA Men's Championships, which begin May 9. The Lobos look to gain an at-large bid to extend their season. The NCAA Men's Tennis Team Selection Show airs on ESPN News at 2-2:30 p.m. (EST) on Tuesday April 29.

No. 1 TCU (20-7) def. No. 2 New Mexico (20-8), 4-3


1. No. 36 Cosmin Cotet (TCU) def. No. 69 Max Jones (UNM) 4-6, 6-1, 6-2

2. Johnny Parkes (UNM) def. Emanu Brighiu (TCU) 7-6(6), 6-4

3. Kriegler Brink (TCU) def. Graeme Kassautzki (UNM) 5-7, 7-5, 6-4

4. Miles Bugby (UNM) def. Zach Nichols (TCU) 6-0, 7-5

5. Chris Parkes (UNM) def. Adrian Simon (TCU) 6-4, 6-1

6. Casey Powers (TCU) def. Kamil Pajkowski (UNM) 6-4, 6-4

Order of Finish: 4, 5, 2, 6, 1, 3*


1. Brink/Brigui (TCU) vs. Jones/Pajkowski (UNM) 6-5, unf.

2. Cotet/Simon (TCU) def. Parkes/Parkes (UNM) 8-2

3. Nichols/Seider (TCU) def. Kassautzki/Wood (UNM) 8-3

Order of Finish: 3, 2*

*Clinching point