LoboTV
Lobos Beat Air Force, 6-2; Move Into Tie With BYU
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/15/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 15, 2009

Box Score

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. --- After jumping out to a big lead on Thursday, it took the University of New Mexico baseball team a bit longer to adjust to the changing winds and beat Air Force, 6-2 on Friday afternoon at Falcon Field. UNM improves to 36-18 overall and 14-8 in Mountain West Conference action, while Air Force is now 14-36 and 3-17. The Lobos are currently tied with BYU for third place in the league standings, going into tonight's conference games between TCU and UNLV, and San Diego State and Utah.

Catcher Rafael Neda put the Lobos on the board in the second inning when he scored on a Brian Cavazos-Galvez sacrifice fly, 1-0. Air Force responded in the bottom of the inning when Jack Lupo scored on a Jon McMahon triple, 1-1.

Air Force took the lead, 2-1 in the bottom of the third on a solo home run by Nathan Carter.

Lobo starter Rudy Jaramillo dueled with Falcon starter Alex Truesdale for two innings before UNM took the lead in the top of the sixth.

The Lobos tacked on four runs to get the lead back. Designated hitter Ryan Honeycutt doubled to right field to push second baseman Mike Brownstein across the plate to tie the game at 2-2. With two outs and the bases loaded, first baseman Justin Howard hit a double to right center to clear the bases and give UNM a 5-2 lead.

Jaramillo (4-1) threw one more scoreless frame in the sixth, before giving way to Will Kerr. Kerr threw three innings of one-hit ball, facing the minimum nine batters to earn his first save of the season.

In the top of the ninth, Cavazos-Galvez added an insurance run, scoring on a fielder's choice for Adam Courcha, 6-2.

Truesdale (2-9) threw a complete game for Air Force, giving up just seven hits.

Of those seven Lobo hits, Neda led the way with two on the day, both doubles, to go along with two runs scored.

The series wraps up on Saturday at noon at Falcon Field. Live stats are available at www.GoLobos.com.

Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News