New Mexico Finishes Eighth at MWC Tournament
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/08/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 8, 2010

Final Results

Team Get Acrobat Reader | Individual Get Acrobat Reader | Course Stats Get Acrobat Reader

TUCSON, Ariz. --- The University of New Mexico men's golf team shot a 9-over-par 293 Saturday during the final round of the 2010 Mountain West Conference Championship Tournament, held at the OMNI Tucson National Golf Club. The Lobos finished in eighth place at 41-over with a three-round total of 311-289-293=893.

Individually, senior Nick Geyer finished tied for 26th to lead New Mexico. Geyer shot a 1-over 72 on Saturday to finish with an 8-over 78-71-72=221. Freshman John Catlin finished 30th after posting a 10-over 76-72-75=223, while junior Tom Carlson tied for 31st two strokes back with a 12-over 80-73-72=225.

Travis Ross finished Saturday as he did Friday's second round - tied for 33rd. The junior shot a final-round 3-over 74 to finish with a 14-over 77-76-74=227. Freshman Ryan Gay rounded out New Mexico's score with an 18-over 82-73-76=231.

Colorado State captured the team title for the second time in three years, finishing with an 18-under 283-274-277=834. San Diego State finished second at 5-under with a 285-277-285=847. UNLV (290-271-288=849, -3), Brigham Young (287-279-288=854, +2) and TCU (293-298-276=867, +15) round out the top five.

The Rams' Ryan Peterson claimed individual medalist honors, carding an 8-under 70-65-70=205. The Rebels' Eddie Olson finished second with a 6-under 76-64-67=207, while the Aztecs' Tom Berry (71-65-72=208, -5) finishing third.

The Lobos, ranked 45th heading into the MWC Championship Tournament, now must wait to see if they'll be selected to one of the six NCAA Regional tournaments. All six regional tournaments take place May 20-22.

The All-MWC Conference Team and awards, traditionally announced at the conclusion of the conference tournament, will be announced on Tuesday, May 11.

Team Standings
1. Colorado State 283-274-277=834 (-18)
2. San Diego State 285-277-285=847 (-5)
3. UNLV 290-271-288=849 (-3)
4. BYU 287-279-288=854 (+2)
5. TCU 293-298-276=867 (+15)
6. Air Force 304-292-291=887 (+35)
7. Wyoming 303-299-290=892 (+40)
8. New Mexico 311-289-293=893 (+41)
9. Utah 305-304-302=911 (+59)