LoboTV
Lobos Await 2011 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship Opponent
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/29/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 29, 2011

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The 2011 Mountain West Conference Tournament Champion Lobo baseball squad will gather at 10:30 a.m. MT tomorrow, Monday, May 30, to watch the NCAA Baseball Road to Omaha Selection Show on ESPN at Coaches Sports Grill, located at 1414 Central Ave SE, in Albuquerque N.M.

The viewing party is open to the public and Lobo fans are highly encouraged to come join in the fun. Come support the Lobo baseball team as it waits to see who its opponent will be in the 2011 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship.

The Lobos clinched an automatic bid to the tournament after claiming their first ever MWC tournament title. UNM will now wait and see who it will face in the first round regional portion of the tournament. 

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 65th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship earlier today.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 28) will be:

2011 Regional Hosts

Atlanta, Ga.                                  Georgia Tech (40-19)
Austin, Texas                               Texas (43-15)
Fullerton, Calif.                             Cal State Fullerton (39-15)
Chapel Hill, N.C.                           North Carolina (45-14)
Charlottesville, Va.                        Virginia (48-9)
Clemson, S.C.                              Clemson (41-18)
College Station, Texas                  Texas A&M (41-18)
Columbia, S.C.                             South Carolina (45-14)
Corvallis, Ore.                              Oregon State (38-16)
Fort Worth, Texas                         TCU (42-17)
Gainesville, Fla.                            Florida (44-16)
Houston, Texas                            Rice (41-19)
Los Angeles, Calif.                        UCLA (33-21)
Nashville, Tenn.                            Vanderbilt (47-9)
Tallahassee, Fla.                           Florida State (42-16)
Tempe, Ariz.                                 Arizona State (38-16)

The Lobos do not konw who they will face, but have a feeling they may be kept closer the the western region.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News