LoboTV
Lobos Squeak By Texas State, 11-10
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/01/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 1, 2008

Box Score

SAN MARCOS, Texas --- The New Mexico baseball team kept its undefeated record intact at 7-0, squeaking out an 11-10 win over Texas State at Bobcat Field on Saturday. The Lobos recorded a season-high 19 hits as seven of nine hitters had multiple-hit games. Senior outfielder Matt Hibbitts had three hits on the day to extend his consecutive-game hitting streak to 20. Hibbitts came into the 2008 season with a 13-game steak.

Designated hitter Drew McDonald has his first at-bat hit streak come to an end, but his second at-bat in the third inning got the Lobos on the scoreboard after Texas State (3-3) started the game 4-0. McDonald hit a single up the middle to score Hibbitts who had just doubled down the left field line.

The Lobos finally got to Bobcat starter Steven Siers (0-1) in the top of the fifth inning. First baseman Kevin Atkinson tied the game at four with a three-run double to score Max Willett, Hibbitts, and Rafael Neda. Siers was chased from the game in the top of the sixth after third baseman Dane Hamilton picked up his second hit of the game to start the inning.

Junior transfer Clinton Cox picked up his first save of the season in his fourth appearance of the season. Cox gave up three hits and two runs, and struck out three and did not allow a walk to preserve the Lobo win. The Rock Springs, Wyo., native entered the game in relief of Will Kerr and Drew Kendrick, who walked each of the two batters they faced with a 10-4 lead to start the bottom of the seventh inning.

Starter Willy Kesler (2-0) picked up his second win of the season, despite struggling in the first inning and getting behind 4-0 after one.

"I'm proud of Clinton Cox," said Lobo head coach Ray Birmingham. "He went in the game and got after it. He threw strikes. We had outstanding hitting, except for a few situations where we left too many men on base. We just have to get everyone on the same page."

The final game of the series will be Sunday, March 2 at 12 p.m. (MST) at Bobcat Field in San Marcos. Senior Stephen Smith is scheduled to start for the Lobos.

Thursday, April 17
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Friday, April 18
TBA - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
4:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť St.
Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
E-News