Carlson, Herrera Honored On ABCA/Rawlings All-America Teams
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  06/20/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

June 20, 2006

OMAHA, Neb. - One day after being named to the American Baseball Coaches Association/Rawlings Midwest Region first team, Chris Carlson and Danny Ray Herrera were named to the first and second team All-America teams, respectively.

Carlson hit .366 (86-for-235) with 63 runs, 16 doubles, 21 home runs and a team-high 79 RBI. Carlson was named a first-team Louisville Slugger All-American and first team ESPN the Magazine Academic All-American earlier this season. He was also named Louisville Slugger Player of the Week and MWC Player of the Week on April 17 along with All-MWC first team and MWC all-tournament team honors. Carlson was drafted by the Detroit Tigers on June 7th in the 29th round and will leave the Lobos after just two stellar years.

Herrera, the MWC Co-Pitcher of the Year, All-MWC first team and MWC all-tournament honoree and two-time MWC Pitcher of the Week (2/27, 3/13), went 10-0 with a 2.24 ERA in 17 starts. He was honored on the Louisville Slugger All-America second team and is currently one of 10 finalists for the CSTV Player of the Year award. He threw three complete games, going 128.1 innings with just 29 walks and 104 strikeouts. Herrera is just the second Lobo pitcher to ever earn All-American honors with Dean Duane making the team in 1985. He was drafted by the Texas Rangers in the 45th round and has not decided whether to return to UNM for his senior season.

The ABCA All-America Teams are collegiate baseball's oldest selections, dating to 1949. All Division I coaches have the opportunity to nominate and vote on these selections, which are initially compiled into eight All-Region teams. These teams are then finalized as the first, second and third All-America teams by the ABCA's NCAA Division I All-America and Coach of the Year Committee, chaired by Pat McMahon of the University of Florida. This year, the committee selected 58 players as 2006 ABCA All-Americans.

2006 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division I All-America Teams

RHP - Eddie Degerman, Rice
RHP/UTL - Brad Lincoln, Houston
LHP - Andrew Miller, North Carolina
RHP - Wes Roemer, Cal State Fullerton
Relief RHP - Don Czyz, Kansas
C - Michael McKenry, Middle Tennessee
1B - Ryan Strieby, Kentucky
2B - Justin Turner, Cal State Fullerton
SS - Ryan Khoury, Utah
3B - David Freese, South Alabama
DH - Chris Carlson, New Mexico
OF - Jacob Dempsey, Winthrop
OF - Cole Gillespie, Oregon State
OF - Mike Goetz, Wisconsin-Milwaukee
OF - Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison

RHP - Dallas Buck, Oregon State
LHP - Chris Cody, Manhattan
LHP/UTL - Sean Doolittle, Virginia
LHP - Danny Ray Herrera, New Mexico
LHP - Wade LeBlanc, Alabama
RHP- Tim Lincecum, Washington
Relief LHP - Cole St. Clair, Rice
C - Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech
1B - Andy D'Alessio, Clemson
1B - Brad Miller, Ball State
2B - Chris Carrara, Winthrop
2B - Jim Negrych, Pittsburgh
SS - Zack Cozart, Ole Miss
SS - Chris Minaker, Stanford
3B - Ronnie Bourquin, Ohio State
3B - Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State
DH - John Fitzpatrick, Manhattan
OF - Tyler Colvin, Clemson
OF - Michael Epping, New Orleans
OF - Cyle Hankard, Southern California
OF - Drew Holder, Dallas Baptist
OF - Emeel Salem, Alabama

RHP - Josh Cribb, Clemson
RHP - Mitch Harris, Navy
RHP - Steve Holmes, Rhode Island
LHP - Hunter Moody, UL-Lafayette
RHP - Steven Wright, Hawaii-Manoa
Relief RHP - Vinnie Pestano, Cal State Fullerton
Relief RHP - Andrew Urena, Mercer
C - Matt McBride, Lehigh
1B - Nate Schill, James Madison
2B - Damon Sublett, Wichita State
SS - Mike Affronti, LeMoyne
SS - Emmanuel Burriss, Kent State
3B - Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt
3B - Evan Longoria, Long Beach State
DH - Anthony Gressick, Ohio
DH - Josh Yates, Arkansas State
OF - Brandon Menchaca, Delaware
OF - Jared Prince, Washington State
OF - Ben Saylor, Brigham Young
OF - Mark Shorey, High Point
OF - Will Vogl, St. John's