Marsh Named Pre-Season Naismith Trophy Candidate
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  12/12/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Dec. 12, 2006

ATLANTA, Ga. - Junior forward Dionne Marsh was named one of fifty pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Monday. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men's and women's players of the year.

The Top 50 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its pre-season criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2006-07 season.

In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow its pre-season list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

Last year's Naismith Trophy recipient was repeat winner Seimone Augustus from LSU. Other notable women's college player of the year winners include Diana Taurasi, Cheryl Miller, Chamique Holdsclaw and Sheryl Swoopes.

The pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

First Name Last Name, Position, School

Matee Ajavon, G, Rutgers

Jolene Anderson, G, Wisconsin

Morenike Atunrase, G/F, Texas A&M

Alison Bales, C, Duke

DeWanna Bonner, F, Auburn

Sha Brooks, G, Florida

Essense Carson, F, Rutgers

Cori Chambers, G, Georgia

Angela Clark, F, St. John's

Marissa Coleman, F, Maryland

Jazz Covington, F, Louisville

Jessica Davenport, C, Ohio State

Dee Davis, G, Vanderbilt

Jessica Dickson, G, South Florida

Shay Doron, G, Maryland

Sylvia Fowles, C, LSU

Katie Gearlds, G, Purdue

Chrissy Givens, F, Middle Tennessee

Devanai Hampton, C, Cal

Lindsey Harding, G, Duke

Kiera Hardy, G, Nebraska

Laura Harper, F, Maryland

Cameo Hicks, G, Washington

Alexis Hornbuckle, G, Tennessee

Charde Houston, F, UConn

Tasha Humphrey, F, Georgia

Tiffany Jackson, F, Texas

Tye Jackson, F, Houston

Crystal Kelly, F, Western Kentucky

Crystal Langhorne, F, Maryland

Erlana Larkins, F, UNC

Ivory Latta, G, UNC

Camille Little, F, UNC

Victoria Lucas-Perry, G, Michigan State

Dionne Marsh, F, New Mexico

Lindsey Medders, G, Iowa State

Renee Montgomery, G, UConn

Shay Murphy, G, USC

Courtney Paris, C, Oklahoma

Candace Parker, F/G/C, Tennessee

Armintie Price, G, Ole Miss

Allie Quigley, G, DePaul

Noelle Quinn, F, UCLA

Jillian Robbins, F, Tulsa

Megan Skouby, C, Iowa

Brooke Smith, F/C, Stanford

Kristi Toliver, G, Maryland

Mercedes Walker, C, Pittsburgh

Emily Westerberg, F, Arizona State

Candice Wiggins, G, Stanford