LoboTV
0
0
0
0
Lobos Lose to No. 1 Arizona State, 18-1
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/04/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 4, 2008

Box Score

TEMPE, Ariz. --- Junior Max Willett had three hits for the University of New Mexico baseball team, but those were the only UNM hits as the Lobos lost to No. 1 Arizona State, 18-1, in Tempe tonight.

The Sun Devils (8-0) got on the scoreboard early in the game, taking a 3-0 lead into the fifth inning. New Mexico had the opportunity to make a move in the fifth with the bases loaded and senior Drew McDonald at the plate. ASU made a pitching change and got McDonald to end the inning with a ground out to the shortstop.

ASU had two big run innings in the fifth (five runs) and eighth (seven runs) to put the lead out of reach.

The Lobos (7-2) scored their only run in the top of the eighth when pinch hitter Anthony Martinez drove in Mike Brownstein on a sacrifice fly.

Willett reached base in every plate appearance against ASU - a single in the first, hit by pitch in the third, single in the fifth and a single in the eighth.

Starter Jacob Norton (1-1) took the loss for UNM, while Tommy Rafferty (1-0) picked up the win for ASU in relief.

Earlier today, senior Bobby LaFromboise was named to the 2008 Roger Clemens Award Watch List, awarded to the top pitcher in college baseball. LaFromboise is one of two Mountain West Conference pitchers on the list, along with Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State.

The Lobos will face ASU again on Wednesday, March 5 at 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Friday, May 01
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, May 02
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Sunday, May 03
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
Thursday, May 14
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Friday, May 15
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Saturday, May 16
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, May 20
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News