Three Lobos Named to MWC 10th Anniversary Team
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/12/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 12, 2009

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Three former Lobos were named to the Mountain West Conference Men's Tennis 10th Anniversary Team today. Gracing the singles list is Divan Coetzee, while Max Jones and Kamil Pajkowski represent the Lobos in doubles.

Coetzee played for the Lobos from 2001-04 and holds the all-time singles record at UNM with a mark of 96-30, compiled over three years. As a senior in 2004, Coetzee amassed a 37-10 overall singles record, the most wins in a season for the program as the Lobos went on to win the 2004 MWC Championship. He was named the 2004 MWC Player of the Year, ITA Mountain Region Senior Tennis Player of the Year and collected UNM's Alumni Lettermen's Male Athlete of the Year. He finished his career ranked 22nd in the nation and participated in NCAA singles tournament from 2002-2004.

"Divan Coetzee was about the best competitor I have ever seen come through UNM and college tennis," Lobos head coach Alan Dils said. "He had an unorthodox style to tennis, but showed you can win without being pretty by out-competing your way through a match. He is a phenomenal athlete. Nobody in the conference wanted to play him much less in the United States. Divan would just break you down."

A two-time All-MWC singles and doubles honoree, Coetzee shined off the court as well. He garnered MWC Scholar-Athlete honors all three years, ITA Scholar Athlete in 2003 and 2004, and CoSIDA Academic All-District VI in 2004. Coetzee was the recipient of the 2004 L.F. Tow Diehm Award for his leadership, teamwork and sportsmanship.

"He really embodied what a student-athlete is and even got his master's degree while playing," Dils said.

Doubles tandem Max Jones and Kamil Pajkowski complied a 77-34 record over four years of competition together from 2005-2008. The pair was named All-MWC in doubles from 2006-2008 and won the ITA Mountain Region doubles title as sophomores in 2006. In 2008, they amassed a stunning 26-6 record overall, helping lead the Lobos to a share of the MWC Championship.

"It was a steep learning curve for those two at first because we were in a little bit of a rebuilding stage in 2005," head coach Alan Dils said. "Max and Kamil came in and immediately were thrust into the No. 2 doubles spot. They were kind of thrown right into that frying pan, but they did a great job of learning quickly how to adapt and play with each other. Each year they got better and better together, and they really excelled their senior year."

Jones was just as dominant in singles play, making the All-MWC singles team all four years of his career and collecting Freshman of the Year in 2005. He ranks No. 8 all-time at UNM in singles with a career record of 80-52 and No. 6 in doubles at 80-35. Pajkowski ranks fifth in doubles with an 82-41 record and 23rd in singles at 65-57. Jones was a four-time MWC All-Academic (2005-2008), three-time MWC Scholar Athlete (2005, 2007, 2008) and two-time ITA Scholar Athlete (2005, 2008). Pajkowski earned MWC All-Academic in 2005, 2006 and 2008, and was a MWC Scholar Athlete in 2005 and 2006.

The team is selected by by a combined panel of media, institutional and conference personnel and online fan poll. In order to be eligible for consideration, candidates must have been an all-Mountain West selection at least once in their careers.

Mountain West Men's Tennis 10th Anniversary Team


Player/School/Years Played in MWC/All-Conference

Shannon Buck/Air Force/2003-2006/2003, 2004, 2005, 2006

Divan Coetzee/New Mexico/2001-2004/2002, 2003, 2004

Markus Dickhardt/San Diego State/2004-2007/2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

Oliver Maiberger/San Diego State/2000-2003/2000, 2001, 2002, 2003

Alex Waske/San Diego State/2000/2000

Henner Nehles/UNLV/2003-2005/2003, 2004, 2005

Zach Ganger/Utah/2005-2008/2006, 2007, 2008


Players/SchoolYears Played in MWC/All-Conference

Gert Vilms-Carlos Lozano/BYU/2001-2002/2001, 2002

Kamil Pajkowski-Max Jones/New Mexico/2006-2008/2006, 2007, 2008

Oliver Maiberger-Ryan Redondo/San Diego State/2002-2003/2002, 2003