Beggin and Hartill Named All-Mountain West Conference
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/09/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 9, 2009

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - New Mexico junior Amy Beggin and senior Angela Hartill have been named All-Mountain West Conference today as voted on by the league women's basketball coaches Monday. Beggin was named second All-MWC while Hartill was selected on the third team. Beggin also earned All-Defensive team honors.

Utah's Morgan Warburton was selected as the Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Player of the Year for 2008-09 as chosen by the head coaches, the MWC announced Monday. Defensive Player of the Year honors went to San Diego State's Jené Morris, while UNLV's Jamie Smith was chosen as the Freshman of the Year. The 6th Player of the Year award was given to Wyoming's Emma Langford, while TCU's TK LaFleur earned Newcomer of the Year honors. San Diego State's Beth Burns, who guided the Aztecs to their first MWC regular-season title, earned her first MWC Coach of the Year honor.

Warburton, a senior guard, helped the Utes to a 13-3 conference record and their seventh MWC regular-season title. She led the league in points (18.1 ppg), and was first in free-throw percentage (.890) and fifth in assists (3.56 apg) during the conference slate.

Five seniors, five juniors and five sophomores make up this year's all-MWC team. Five all-conference picks were repeat selections from 2007-08.

Three different institutions were honored on this year's first team. Joining Warburton on the all-MWC first-team were teammate Kalee Whipple of Utah and Helena Sverrisdottir of TCU. Whipple made her third consecutive all-conference appearance, being named to the third team her freshman year and second team last season. San Diego State had two first-team honorees in Paris Johnson and Jené Morris. Warburton was named a first-team all-conference member for the third consecutive year, while the others are first-time selections to the first team.

New Mexico's Amy Beggin is the only returning all-conference performer from 2007-08 on the second team. This year, six players were named to the second team, due to a tie for the fifth spot. Underclassmen Emily Carter of TCU and Hillary Carlson of Wyoming made the list, while TCU's TK LaFleur earned second-team honors in her first year competing in the MWC. San Diego State's Quenese Davis earned her second all-conference honors, after being named to the third team her freshman year, while Utah's Katie King was also honored.

UNLV's Shamela Hampton earned her third straight third-team honor. BYU's Mindy Nielson, New Mexico's Angela Hartill and Wyoming's Megan McGuffey each made their first appearance on the all-conference list.

2008-09 All-Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Team

First Team All-Mountain West Conference
#**Morgan Warburton, Utah, Sr., 5-11, G
\ #**Kalee Whipple, Utah, Jr., 6-0, F
#Helena Sverrisdottir, TCU, So., 6-2, G
Paris Johnson, San Diego State, So., 6-4, C
*Jené Morris, San Diego State, Jr., 5-9, G

Second Team All-Mountain West Conference
*Amy Beggin, New Mexico, Jr., 5-6, G
*Quenese Davis, San Diego State, Jr., 5-9, G
TK LaFleur, TCU, Jr., 5-8, G
Hillary Carlson, Wyoming, So., 6-3, F
Emily Carter, TCU, So., 6-1, G
Katie King, Utah, Sr., 6-1, F

Third Team All-Mountain West Conference
**Shamela Hampton, UNLV, Sr., 6-3, C
Angela Hartill, New Mexico, Sr., 6-3, C
Mindy Nielson, BYU, So., 5-10, G
Megan McGuffey, Wyoming, Sr., 5-11, F

Honorable Mention All-Mountain West Conference
Jamie Smith, UNLV, Fr., 6-0, G/F
Raimee Beck, Air Force, Jr., 5-8, G
Cassie King, BYU, Sr., 6-3, C
Shawnee Slade, BYU, Sr., 5-11, G/F
Kristen Scheffler, Wyoming, Fr., 5-11, G

All-Defensive Team
Jené Morris, San Diego State, Jr., 5-9, G
Paris Johnson, San Diego State, So., 6-4, C
Mindy Nielson, BYU, So., 5-10, G
Quenese Davis, San Diego State, Jr., 5-9, G
Amy Beggin, New Mexico, Jr., 5-6, G

Player of the Year: Morgan Warburton, Utah
Newcomer of the Year: TK LaFleur, TCU
Freshman of the Year: Jamie Smith, UNLV
Defensive Player of the Year: Jené Morris, San Diego State
6th Player of the Year: Emma Langford, Wyoming
Coach of the Year: Beth Burns, San Diego State

* notes repeat all-conference selection
** notes three-time all-conference selection
# notes unanimous first-team selection