LoboTV
New Mexico Softball Picked to Finish Fourth in MW Preseason Poll
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/07/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 7, 2012

2012 MW Softball PreseasonPoll Get Acrobat Reader

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West office released the 2012 Softball Preseason Poll and according to the panel of five MW head softball coaches, the Lobos are slated to finish fourth out of five teams.

San Diego State received four first-place votes and 16 total points en route to a predicted first-place finish. UNLV followed San Diego State closely, nabbing 13 points and one first-place vote, while newcomer Boise State was picked third, tallying nine points. New Mexico received eight points and Colorado State took the No. 5 spot with four points.

The result of the preseason poll didn't faze Lobo head coach Erica Beach, who says this year's squad has a lot of fight in it, as well as a strong will to compete.

"We're definitely capable of surprising some people in the conference," Lobo head coach Erica Beach said. "Everything changes once you step out on the field and it's what you do day in and day out that defines who you are as a team. We're going to compete every game and hopefully make people notice us."

The Lobos have plenty of time to gear up for MW action as league play doesn't begin until April 20, when New Mexico hosts San Diego State for a three-game series. By then UNM will have played 36 games.

Thursday, April 02
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Friday, April 03
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, April 04
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, April 07
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, April 08
11:00 AM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Friday, April 10
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Saturday, April 11
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Sunday, April 12
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Softball
at New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
E-News