Lobo Men Cruise To First Victory Of 2003
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  10/04/2003
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Oct. 4, 2003

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The University of New Mexico men's cross country team scored a season-low 25 points to pick up its first victory of the season this morning at the Mountain West Conference Pre-Championship meet at Morley Field. New Mexico, which was running its first meet in San Diego since 1995, received a career-best second place finish from senior Sean Flaherty to defeat conference foes Wyoming (49) and Utah (59). The UNM women placed four runners in the top 20 to finish a strong fourth (85 points), just four points behind third place Wyoming.

Flaherty, who has led the Lobos in all three meets this year, was one of six UNM men to finish in the top 10. He completed the 8,000-meter course in 26:31 and shattered his previous-best finish of 13th last year. Fellow senior Leighton Katsuda turned in the best performance of his Lobo career, finishing fourth with a time of 26:39. Junior Nate Clem (5th - 26:43), sophomore Brandon Vigil (6th- 26:45) and freshman Stephen Martinez (8th - 26:50) wrapped up the scoring five for New Mexico. The win was the seventh for the Lobo men in head coach Matt Henry's four-year tenure. UNM had won just one meet in the five years prior to Henry's arrival.

On the women's side, senior Sarah Gonzales became the third different runner to lead the Lobos this season, finishing 12th with a season-best time of 23:25. Gonzales, who led the women in five meets last fall, finished less than a minute behind the winner, Rena Williams of BYU. Sophomore Timmie Murphy (23:38) and true freshman Riann Lucy (23:51) finished 14th and 15th, respectively, while sophomore Janice Tosa (24:01) was close behind in 17th. First year runner Brooke Gosling was 28th (25:04) to conclude the scoring for New Mexico.

The Lobos get a well-deserved week off before returning to action at the Canyon West Invitational in Tempe, Ariz. on Oct. 18. New Mexico will then return to San Diego on Nov. 1 for the 2003 MWC Championships.