LoboTV
Chavez Lifts Lobos Over Aggies With Home Run
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/28/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 28, 2004

Box Score

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The New Mexico softball team (11-7) completed the sweep of a doubleheader at New Mexico State with a 3-0 win in game two. Sophomore Iraina Ogas and senior Amy Dumas combined for the shutout.

Junior Cassie Chavez replicated her game one efforts, getting the Lobos started with her two-run home run to left that scored senior Jen Sena as well.

Senior Kim Korsak scored New Mexico's third run one inning later after doubling to lead off the inning. Korsak was advanved to third on the sac bunt by senior Ora Hensley and scored on a wild pitch by the Aggies' Lindsay Ashley.

Ogas earned her third win of the season, pitching five innings. She allowed four hits and three walks while striking out three. Dumas pitched two innings in relief, giving up no hits and striking out three of six batters faced.

Ashley suffered her fourth consecutive loss, throwing five innings. Ashley gave up six hits including Chavez' home run, three walks and three earned runs while striking out five. Stephanie Carrasco tossed two innings in relief.

Hensley led the Lobo offense, going 1-2. Freshman Ryanne Hodgins, Ogas and Korsak all went 1-3. Stacy Knight (1-1) and Cassandra Gonzales (1-2) led the Aggies.

New Mexico travels to UTEP tomorrow for a doubleheader starting at 11 a.m. CST. It is the first meeting between the two teams.

Sunday, March 29
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Thursday, April 02
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Friday, April 03
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, April 04
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, April 07
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, April 08
11:00 AM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Friday, April 10
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Saturday, April 11
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Sunday, April 12
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Softball
at New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
E-News