Brenna Wins Slalom; No. 1 Lobos Finish 3rd At NCAA West Regional/RMISA Championships
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/28/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 28, 2010

  • NCAA West Regional/RMISA Championships/University of Colorado Laura Sharpe Flood Memorial Invitational Final Results

    STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, Colo. --- The University of New Mexico ski team moved up two spots in the team standings after strong slalom finishes put the Lobos in a third-place finish at the 2010 NCAA West Regional/RMISA Championships in Steamboat Springs, Colo. Sophomore Petter Brenna won his second consecutive West Region/RMISA title in the men's slalom, while freshman Anne Cecilie Brusletto took second in the women's slalom to boost the Lobos point total. The No. 1-ranked Lobos earned 725 points. No. 2 Colorado won their home meet with 902 points.

    The Lobos ended up with six top-15 finishes, four for the men and two for the women. Junior Thomas Schwab placed 4th, followed by freshman Chris Acosta in 12th for the Lobos points. Senior Olivier Lacaille was just behind Acosta in 14th place. While Brusletto took second, senior Malin Hemmingsson placed 8th and sophomore Jacqueline Hangl rounded out the scoring in 23rd.

    Up next for the Lobos is the 2010 NCAA Championships in Steamboat Springs on March 10-13. NCAA qualifiers will be announced on Tuesday, March 2. UNM expects to have 11 qualifiers for the NCAA meet, one qualifier short of a full team. Postseason RMISA also will be announced early in the week.

    NCAA West Regional/RMISA Championships/University of Colorado Laura Sharpe Flood Memorial (Final Results)
    1. Colorado, 902; 2. Alaska-Anchorage, 764; 3. New Mexico, 725; 4. Utah, 705; 5. Denver, 700.5; 6. Montana State, 640; 7. Nevada, 635.5

    New Mexico Individual Results

    Women's Slalom - 2. Anne Cecilie Brusletto, 1:21.05; 8. Malin Hemmingsson, 1:22.20; 23. Jacqueline Hangl, 1:25.49; 27. Kate Williams, 1:31.33

    Men's Slalom - 1. Petter Brenna, 1:14.74; 4. Thomas Schwab, 1:15.31; 12. Chris Acosta, 1:21.98; 14. Olivier Lacaille, 1:24.12; 24. Chriss Salbu, 2:43.92; DNF (1st) Gary Beresford

    Women's 15K Freestyle - 5. Linn Klaesson, 54:08.9; 28. Ingrid Leask, 55:00.1

    Men's 20K Freestyle - 21. Eivind Solberg, 59:58.8; DNS Pierre Niess and Simon Reissmann

    Women's Giant Slalom - 1. Anne Cecilie Brusletto, 1:57.26; 15. Malin Hemmingsson, 1:59.37; 27. Jacqueline Hangl, 2:01.83; DNF (1st) Kate Williams

    Men's Giant Slalom - 4. Thomas Schwab, 1:57.30; 5. Petter Brenna, 1:57.36; 10. Chris Acosta, 1:57.93; 16. Chriss Salbu, 1:58.40; 19. Olivier Lacaille, 1:58.55; 31. Gary Beresford, 2:03.44

    Women's 5K Classic - 22. Linn Klaesson, 20:22.6

    Men's 10K Classic - 7. Eivind Solberg, 34:06.1

  • E-News