Young Lobos Wrap Up Competition In North Carolina
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  09/26/2003
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Sept. 26, 2003

CARY, N.C. - Senior Sean Flaherty and sophomore Timmie Murphy led the University of New Mexico men's and women's teams at the Great American Cross Country Festival at the SAS Soccer Park this afternoon. Flaherty placed 75th to help the men finish 17th. Murphy, meanwhile, was 56th as the women finished 15th overall. Nine of the 13 UNM runners to cross the finish line were first or second-year cross country competitors, including four true freshmen.

For the second time in as many meets this season, Flaherty paced the Lobo men, completing the 8,000-meter course in 27:28. Junior Nate Clem was close behind, finishing 87th with a time of 27:40, while senior Leighton Katsuda was 97th (27:55). Sophomore Brandon Vigil placed 105th (28:04) and senior Chris Rogers finished 112th (28:13) to wrap up the Lobo scoring. Promising freshman Steven Martinez did not make the trip and stayed in Albuquerque to rest his sore Achilles tendon.

On the women's side, Murphy clocked her fastest 5,000-meter time, crossing the line in 19:27. Senior Sarah Gonzales led a tight pack of Lobos, finishing 78th with a time of 20:08. Freshman Riann Lucy (20:17) and sophomore Janice Tosa (20:26) followed in 82nd and 86th, respectively. Senior Brooke Gosling, a member of the UNM nordic ski team, was the final scoring runner for New Mexico, finishing 94th with a time of 21:05.

Northern Arizona's Travis Laird won the men's race with a time of 25:34 to lead the Lumberjacks to their second straight Great American title. Defending NCAA Champion Shalane Flanagan of North Carolina was a 23-second winner in the women's race, but was unable to get the Tarheels past intrastate rival North Carolina State as the Wolfpack took the team title 45-55.

UNM head coach Matt Henry will lead his young Lobos into San Diego, Calif. next Saturday, Oct. 4, for the pre-Mountain West Conference Championship meet. The race gets underway at 11 a.m. (MST) at Balboa Park.