Lobo Men's Cross Country Gets At-Large Berth, Joins Women at Nationals
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  11/13/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Nov. 13, 2011

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Track and Field Committee announced today that the New Mexico Lobo men's cross country has earned an at-large berth into the 2011 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships to be held Monday, Nov. 21, in Terre Haute, Ind. The men join the women's team at the championships.

The women's cross country team received an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship after tying Colorado for first-place honors at the Mountain Regional on Saturday in Provo, Utah. The Lobo men earned an at-large bid after finishing fourth in the 10K race at the Mountain Regional.

The women's team is making its fourth straight appearance at the NCAA's and eighth overall, counting two trips to the AIWA championships. The Lobos finished 18th in 2008, 13th in 2009, and then 5th last year, their best finish ever. The men's team is making it seventh championship appearance, and third in a row. The men finished 16th last year after finishing tied for eighth in 2009.

The Mountain West has one other individual that will be at the championships as TCU junior Agnes Kemboi punched her ticket as an individual qualifier to 2011 NCAA Cross Country Championships by pacing the Horned Frogs at the South Central Regional on Saturday in Waco, Texas finishing sixth overall.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Indiana State will host the 2011 NCAA Men's and Women's Championships on Nov. 21 at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course located at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind. The men's race will begin at approximately 10:08 a.m. MT, followed by the women's race at approximately 10:58 a.m. MT. A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast from 10 a.m. MT to 11:30 a.m MT on NCAA.com.

In addition, highlights from the championships will be included as part of the CBS NCAA Fall Seasonal Show scheduled to air on Saturday, Dec. 18 from 11 a.m. to 12 p.m. MT on CBS HD.

Men's NCAA Championship Results
Year	Place	Pts
1966	11th	311
1975	14th	352
1988	T-20th	462
2004	9th	330
2009	T-8th	350
2010	16th	376

Women's NCAA Championship Results Year Place Pts 1976* 9th N/A 1978* 19th 506 1981 11th 284 1985 14th 296 2008 18th 475 2009 13th 368 2010 5th 227 *AIAW National Championships