LoboTV
Lobos' Baseball Downed By UNLV
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/29/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 29, 2011

Complete Box Score in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Box Score

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - The Lobos' baseball team got shutout 8-0 in game one of a three-game conference tiff with UNLV Friday night.

Neither team had scored going into the fifth until UNLV opened things up with four runs in the bottom of the inning. UNLV's center fielder Trevor Kirk scored the first run in the inning with an RBI single off Lobos' starting left-hander Rudy Jaramillo. Scott Dysinger followed Kirk with an RBI single of his own, and designated hitter Brandon Bayardi rounded out the inning with a two-run double to left to put the rebels up 4-0.

The hits were there for the Lobos but, unfortunately, the runs were not, which is a theme that has recurred throughout the season for the young team. The Lobos threatened in the second inning when Luke Campbell and John Twichell were on second and third with two outs, but UNLV's starting pitcher Tanner Peters got UNM's Trey Porras to pop out to end the inning.

UNLV's Peters won his sixth game of the season, as he threw a complete-game shutout while allowing seven hits to UNM. UNM falls to 13-30 (7-9, MWC) on the season while UNLV improves to 26-10 (5-10, MWC).

The Lobos' will match up again with the Rebels at 8 p.m. MT tomorrow night for game two of the three-game series in Las Vegas.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News