LoboTV
Herrera Joins the Cincinnati Reds
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  06/03/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

June 3, 2008

  • Herrera Strikes Out Two in MLB Debut
  • Reds Add Former Lobo Danny Ray Herrera

    Former University of New Mexico baseball All-American Danny Ray Herrera had his contract purchased from the Triple-A Louisville Bats and will join the Cincinnati Reds for tonight's game against the Philadelphia Phillies. Herrera was the 2006 Mountain West Conference co-Pitcher of the Year before being selected in the 45th round by the Texas Rangers in the 2006 amateur draft.

    Herrera, 23, was the other pitcher Cincinnati acquired in the Dec. 21 trade that sent outfielder Josh Hamilton to the Rangers. Edinson Volquez also came over in that deal.

    "It is a great time to be a Lobo and Danny is another reason why," stated UNM head coach Ray Birmingham. "Danny is a great example of what hard work can get you when you start in a Lobo uniform and we expect there to be more Lobos joining the Majors shortly."

    In 26 games combined with Double-A Chattanooga and Louisville this season, Herrera was 3-1 with a 1.85 ERA. In 39 innings, he gave up eight earned runs, 26 hits and 11 walks with 26 strikeouts. Opponents batted .195 against him.

    Herrera was 22-12 in three seasons with the Lobos (2004-06). He posted a 10-0 mark and a 2.24 ERA his junior year before being drafted by the Rangers. Herrera is the only Lobo currently on a Major League roster. For a complete list of Lobos playing professional baseball see the sidebar on the baseball page on GoLobos.com.

    More Lobos may be joining the professional ranks later in this week. The 2008 MLB Amateur Draft is June 5-6 and can be followed live on MLB.com.

  • Sunday, March 29
    12:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    vs. Fresno State
    Tuesday, March 31
    2:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    vs. Texas Tech
    Thursday, April 02
    7:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    at San Diego State
    Friday, April 03
    7:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    at San Diego State
    Saturday, April 04
    2:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    at San Diego State
    Tuesday, April 07
    5:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    at Kansas
    Wednesday, April 08
    2:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    at Kansas
    Friday, April 10
    6:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    vs. Air Force
    Saturday, April 11
    2:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    vs. Air Force
    Sunday, April 12
    1:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    vs. Air Force
    Tuesday, April 14
    6:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    vs. Grand Canyon
    Wednesday, April 15
    3:00 PM - 
    Baseball
    vs. Grand Canyon
    Friday, April 17
    7:05 PM - 
    Baseball
    at UNLV
    Saturday, April 18
    3:05 PM - 
    Baseball
    at UNLV
    Sunday, April 19
    2:05 PM - 
    Baseball
    at UNLV
    E-News