LoboTV
Lobos Lose Close One To Nebraska, 4-2
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/28/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 28, 2009

Box Score

LINCOLN, Neb. --- The University of New Mexico baseball team ended up on the short end of a 4-2 decision to Nebraska at Hawks Field in Lincoln, Neb. Lobo senior John Hesketh (5-3) made a rare mid-week start for the Lobos, throwing six innings before giving way to the UNM bullpen. UNM is now 31-13 on the season and will play Nebraska on Wednesday, April 29, at 12:30 p.m. Nebraska improved to 20-23-1 on the season.

New Mexico scored two runs in the first inning when Ryan Honeycutt drove in Mike Brownstein on a double to left field, then scored on a Dane Hamilton single, 2-0.

But Nebraska scored four unanswered runs and got a complete game performance from Erik Bird (2-1) to win the game, 4-2.

The Lobos were able to get seven hits off of Bird, led by Honeycutt and Hamilton with two each.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News