UNM Women's Basketball Holds Yearly Awards Banquet
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/17/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 17, 2008

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- New Mexico women's basketball held its annual Bank of the West banquet Thursday night at the Hotel Albuquerque located in Old Town. Members of the 2008 MWC Championship team joined over 700 supporters to celebrate another successful season for the Lobos. Head coach Don Flanagan and seniors Dionne Marsh and Brandi Kimble all gave speeches and the team awards were announced.

The Lobo women's basketball team finished with a 20-13 record and made their seventh consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance. UNM won the MWC Championship for the fifth time in the past six seasons. The Lobos have had eight straight seasons with 20 or more wins under Flanagan and have made the postseason in 11 of 13 seasons. UNM once again ranked among the nation's best in attendance finishing seventh and have now ranked in the top 10 nationally for 10 consecutive seasons.

2007-08 Yearly Award Winners -

Best Attitude - Amy Beggin

Reaching for the Stars - Amy Beggin

Defensive Player - Brandi Kimble

Community Lobo - Valerie Kast

Most Improved - Angela Hartill