LoboTV
0
0
0
0
Lobo Baseball Playing For The Boots
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  11/12/2007
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Nov. 12, 2007

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- The New Mexico baseball team is dedicating the 2008 season to the men and women serving in the United States military with the theme "Playing for the Boots". The Lobos received a pair of Army boots from a serviceman who is serving in Iraq.

The boots will be in the UNM dugout of every home and road game during the 2008 season. Team manager Coby Shields, a junior from Hobbs, N.M., will be responsible for the boots throughout the season.

"We have a great appreciation for our men and women serving in the Armed Forces who put their lives on the line each day," said Lobo head coach Ray Birmingham. "Our young men can at least give all they have every day in appreciation for the freedom we have to play baseball in this great country of ours. Our soldiers, over the entire history of America, have given this to us. Lobos appreciate and respect that sacrifice."

Sunday, May 03
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
Thursday, May 14
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Friday, May 15
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Saturday, May 16
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, May 20
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News