LoboTV
Lobos Shake Off Rust For 1-0 Win Over Eastern New Mexico
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/06/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 6, 2004

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The New Mexico softball team (26-18) shook off the rust from not playing in nine days to beat the Eastern New Mexico Zias (9-24) 1-0 this afternoon at Lobo Field.

It was a pitchers dual this afternoon with each team getting only three hits. Sophomore Iraina Ogas started the game for the Lobos, not having played since March 20th. Ogas tossed three innings for two hits, two strikeouts and three walks. Senior Amy Dumas (7-10) earned the win after three innings of work. Dumas allowed one hit and one walk while striking out four. Junior Ashley Perkins picked up her first save of the season after a hitless seventh inning with no walks and one strikeout. Albuquerque native Maegan Rhoten hurled the three-hit, complete game, but falling to 3-11 on the season. Rhoten walked four and struck out one.

The one run came in the bottom of the sixth as junior Ashley Shartzer reached on an error by second baseman Tracy Jordan that allowed freshman Robyn Hutson to score from second.

At the plate for New Mexico, senior Ora Hensley was a perfect 1-1 with the game's only extra base hit and one walk while junior Cassie Chavez went 1-2 with a walk. Hutson was 1-3. Getting the hits for the Zias were Danielle Flores, Cassandra Gonzales, and Blair Campbell.

The Lobos hit the road for their conference opener this weekend. They will play a doubleheader at UNLV Friday, April 9 at 5 p.m. followed by a doubleheader at San Diego State on Sunday, April 11 at 1 p.m.

Friday, April 18
2 - 10 (L)
Softball
vs. UNLV
Saturday, April 19
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News