Carlson, Herrera Named To ABCA/Rawlings Midwest Regional Team
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  06/19/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

June 19, 2006

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Chris Carlson and Danny Ray Herrera garnered more honors today as the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) announced the ABCA/Rawlings 2006 All-Midwest region teams. With Carlson and Herrera both honored, UNM is the only school to place two athletes on the first team.

Carlson hit .366 (86-for-235) with 63 runs, 16 doubles, 21 home runs and a team-high 79 RBI. Carlson was named a first-team All-American and first team Academic All-American earlier this season. He was also named Louisville Slugger Player of the Week and MWC Player of the Week on April 17 along with All-MWC first team and MWC all-tournament team honors. Carlson was drafted by the Detroit Tigers on June 7th in the 29th round and will leave the Lobos after just two stellar years.

Herrera, the MWC Co-Pitcher of the Year, All-MWC first team and MWC all-tournament honoree and two-time MWC Pitcher of the Week (2/27, 3/13), went 10-0 with a 2.24 ERA in 17 starts. He was honored on the Louisville Slugger All-America second team and is currently one of 10 finalists for the CSTV Player of the Year award. He threw three complete games, going 128.1 innings with just 29 walks and 104 strikeouts. Herrera is just the second Lobo pitcher to ever earn All-American honors with Dean Duane making the team in 1985. He was drafted by the Texas Rangers in the 45th round and has not decided whether to return to UNM for his senior season.


First Team
Luke Hopkins, New Mexico State - 1B
Damon Sublett, Wichita State - 2B
Ryan Khoury, Utah - SS
Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State - 3B
Drew Stubbs, Texas - OF
Luke Gorsett, Nebraska - OF
Ben Saylor, BYU - OF
Drew Holder, Dallas Baptist - OF
Nevin Ashley, Indiana State - C
Chris Carlson, New Mexico - DH
Danny Ray Herrera, New Mexico - P
Max Scherzer, Missouri - P
Chris Ashman, Oral Roberts - P
Don Czyz, Kansas - RP

Second Team
Chad Huffman, TCU - 1B
Shelby Ford, Oklahoma State - 2B
Ryan Wehrle, Nebraska - SS
Ryan Rohlinger, Oklahoma - 3B
Zach Daeges, Creighton - OF
Carson Kainer, Texas - OF
Chuckie Caufield, Oklahoma - OF
Zack Dillon, Baylor - C
Deik Scram, Oklahoma State - DH
Jake Arrieta, TCU - P
Nathan Culp, Missouri - P
Aaron Shafer, Wichita State - P
Brett Jensen, Nebraska - RP