LoboTV
Lobo Baseball Completes Four-Game Sweep of Louisiana Tech With a 12-6 Win
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/14/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 14, 2010

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Freshman Alex Allbritton went 4-for-5 from the plate and junior Mike Lachapelle scattered five hits over 5.1 innings to lead the Lobo baseball team to a 12-6 victory over Louisiana Tech today at Isotopes Park. The win gives the Lobos a four-game series sweep over the Bulldogs. New Mexico improves to 13-5 on the season. Louisiana Tech falls to 8-8.

"We had a lot of great things happen for us today," said Lobo head coach Ray Birmingham. "Jacob Nelson threw a great game out there and Mike Lachapelle shut the door. Nelson is a freshman and he has a bright future as a Lobo. Alex Allbritton has played well all season and had a great game today. If he was a little stronger he would have hit for the cycle."

Allbritton had a single, two doubles and a triple and was a home run shy of hitting for the cycle. Senior Adam Courcha went 3-for-5 with three RBIs and a triple. Junior All-America candidate Rafael Neda went 3-for-5 with a team high four RBIs. Seniors Cameron Smith and Daniel Gonzalez each went 2-for-4. Gonzalez had two RBIs on the day.

Freshman Jacob Nelson made his first start of the season on the mound today. Nelson scattered eight hits over 3.2 innings and gave up four runs. Nelson had four strikeouts on the day. Lachapelle (3-0) gave up five hits the rest of the way to earn his third win of the season and fanned five batters in relief of Nelson.

The Lobos open up Mountain West Conference play this Friday-Sunday when they will host Utah at Isotopes Park. All three games will be broadcast live on 101.7 FM (KQTM) The TEAM. For more information, visit www.GoLobos.com.

Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News