LoboTV
UNM Softball Holds Successful Winter Camp
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  01/19/2007
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Jan. 19, 2007

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- The New Mexico softball team hosted its winter camp last weekend at Lobo Field and was very pleased with the participation and support. The winter camp was the first for UNM under the direction of new head coach Ty Singleton. The camp was attended by nearly 100 players, with 60 area coaches attending the coaching clinic in the afternoon session.

"We are very thankful for the turnout and it was a very successful camp," said UNM head coach Ty Singleton. "The campers worked hard during the morning session and worked on skills to develop their overall play. The coaching clinic was a great opportunity to spend time with local coaches. It was a great way to get to know everyone and continue to grow softball in New Mexico."

The morning session featured the campers being introduced to the Lobo style of hitting, pitching, catching and defense. More intense training is tentatively planned for this summer.

The coaching clinic had coaches attend from all over the central New Mexico area and covered every aspect of the coaching profession. The goal of the camp and clinic is to help develop softball opportunities in state of New Mexico.

UNM is opens the 2007 season at the Kajikawa Classic in Tempe, Ariz., against Ohio State on Feb. 9. For more information about Lobo softball visit www.GoLobos.com.

Thursday, April 17
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Friday, April 18
3:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Saturday, April 19
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News