LoboTV
Lobo Game vs. Fresno St. Suspended Due to Rain
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/31/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 31, 2012

FRESNO, Calif. - The New Mexico baseball game at Fresno State was postponed due to rain in the fourth inning Saturday. Instead of playing the scheduled doubleheader on Saturday, the two teams will now resume this game at 12 p.m. (MT) on Sunday, April 1, and then play the scheduled Sunday game immediately following the first game's conclusion.

The Lobos were up 2-1 with one out in the top of the fourth when play was halted. Austin House pitched a solid three innings, allowing only one run on four hits. He also struck out six.

The Lobos not only have to deal with the adjusted schedule, but they now must also contend with a rash of injuries. DJ Peterson left Saturday's game with an injury in the first inning. His replacement, Michael Baca, was also injured in the game. Senior Ben Woodchick has failed to play in either game so far against the Bulldogs due to injury as well, and Erik Suarez is also battling an injury. On top of that, Hobie McClain is sick and his immediate availability is unknown.

"It's a hospital ward here," UNM head coach Ray Birmingham said.

The Lobos scored one in both the first and third innings. Mitchell Garver, batting leadoff because of the injury to Woodchick, started the first with a double. He scored on a single by Josh Melendez two batters later.

Trey Porras led off the third with a double and Garver followed with a walk. They executed a double steal one batter later to put runners on second and third for Baca. He grounded out to second to score Porras.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News