Flanagan Named Russell Athletic/WBCA Region Seven Coach of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/14/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 14, 2006

ATLANTA, Ga. - The RUSSELL ATHLETIC/Women's Basketball Coaches Association Regional Coach of the Year winners for the NCAA, NAIA and Junior College have been announced by the WBCA. New Mexico head coach Don Flanagan was named the Russell Athletic/WBCA Region Seven Coach of the Year for the first time in his 11-year career. Flanagan with the award is now eligible with the seven other Regional Coaches of the Year for the WBCA National Coach of the Year, awarded on April 4.

The winners are selected through a two-level process. The first level is by region, in which coaches from each WBCA geographical region vote for their respective top coach. If a coach has been selected as Regional Coach of the Year, they advance as a finalist to the national level of the selection process along with the other Regional Coaches of the Year in their respective division. The number of coaches varies depending on affiliation.

The winners of the WBCA National Coach of the Year for each division will be honored on Tuesday, April 4 at 12 p.m. (ET) during the RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA Coach of the Year Luncheon in the Hynes Convention Center Ballroom, which is part of the 2006 WBCA National Convention. This year the WBCA celebrates it's Silver Anniversary, marking 25 years of existence.

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as an amateur sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, please visit WBCA.org.

Below are the RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA Regional Coach of the Year winners for the NCAA Division I:

NCAA Division I:


Region 1, C. Vivian Stringer, Rutgers University

Region 2, Sylvia Hatchell, North Carolina

Region 3, Pat Summitt, Tennessee

Region 4, Curt Miller, Bowling Green State

Region 5, Sherri Coale, Oklahoma

Region 6, Jim Wiedie, Indiana State

Region 7, Don Flanagan, University of New Mexico

Region 8, Charli Thorne, Arizona State

Sunday, November 09
2:00 PM - 
Women's Basketball
vs. Eastern New Mexico (exhibition)
Friday, November 14
2:30 PM - 
Women's Basketball
Saturday, November 15
3:00 PM - 
Women's Basketball
at Texas A&M
Sunday, November 16
3:30 PM - 
Women's Basketball
at DePaul