2010 All-Mountain West Conference Women's Soccer Teams
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  11/02/2010

Nov. 2, 2010

  • 2010 MWC Women's Soccer Championship Central

    SAN DIEGO - The Mountain West Conference announced its 2010 women's soccer awards today. The league's eight head coaches selected the all-Conference first and second teams, Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year.

    Junior forward Jennifer Williams of New Mexico garnered MWC Offensive Player of the Year honors, while Lobo sophomore goalkeeper Kelli Cornell earned the MWC Defensive Player of the Year award. San Diego State's Haley Palmer was tabbed MWC Freshman of the Year, and New Mexico head coach Kit Vela collected her second MWC Coach of the Year accolade. The Lobos claimed their first regular-season Mountain West Conference women's soccer title after finishing with a 5-0-2 league record.

    Williams was tabbed as the MWC Offensive Player of the Year after leading the Lobos to the No. 1 seed in the MWC Championship. She finished first in the league in points (12) and goals (4), and tied for first in assists (4) in Conference games. Cornell earned MWC Defensive Player of Year honors after recording a league-best .914 goals save percentage during in Conference play. The sophomore netminder allowed three goals total in seven league games, while also pitching three shutouts. Palmer was named MWC Freshman of the Year after anchoring a San Diego State defense the allowed only four goals (0.57 avg. per game) during Mountain West play.

    2010 All-Mountain West Conference Women's Soccer Team
    First Team Second Team
    *Jennifer Williams, Jr., Forward, New Mexico
    Kelli Cornell, So., Goalkeeper, New Mexico
    *Lindsi Lisonbee, So., Defender, BYU
    **Lauren Hair, Sr., Forward, Utah
    *Carlee Payne, So., Forward/Midfielder, BYU
    *Megan McQueeny, Jr., Defender, San Diego State
    *Ashleigh Shoughro, Sr., Forward, UNLV
    *Amanda Collins, Jr., Midfielder New Mexico
    Michaela DeJesus, Sr., Forward/Midfielder, San Diego State
    *Jordan Calhoun, Jr., Forward, TCU
    *Kassidy Shumway, Sr., Forward/Midfielder, BYU
    *McKinzie Olson, Jr., Goalkeeper, BYU
    **Lauren Porter, Jr., Defender, Utah
    Amanda Forrester, Sr., Midfielder, UNLV
    Rachel Fields, Sr., Midfielder, New Mexico
    Liz O'Reilly, Fr., Midfielder, Wyoming
    **Bridgett Murphy, Jr., Forward, Air Force
    Soledad Gomez, Fr., Midfielder, San Diego State
    **Aubree Southwick, Sr., Goalkeeper, San Diego State
    Haley Palmer, Fr., Defender, San Diego State
    Rachel Manning, Fr., Midfielder, BYU
    Jenny Johnson, So., Defender, Wyoming
    Offensive Player of the Year: Jennifer Williams, Jr., Forward, New Mexico
    Defensive Player of the Year: Kelli Cornell, So., Goalkeeper, New Mexico
    Freshman of the Year: Haley Palmer, Fr., Defender, San Diego State
    Coach of the Year: Kit Vela, New Mexico
    * Indicates repeat selection
    ** Indicates three-time selection
  • Monday, August 17
    7:00 PM - 
    Women's Soccer
    vs. Fort Lewis (exhibition)
    Friday, August 21
    5:00 PM - 
    Women's Soccer
    at USC vs. Texas Tech
    7:30 PM - 
    Women's Soccer
    vs. Florida State
    Sunday, August 23
    10:30 AM - 
    Women's Soccer
    at USC vs. Florida State
    1:00 PM - 
    Women's Soccer
    vs. Texas Tech
    Wednesday, August 26
    6:00 PM - 
    Women's Soccer
    at New Mexico State
    Sunday, August 30
    1:00 PM - 
    Women's Soccer
    at Colorado