LoboTV
UNM Volleyball Defeats Alcorn State At Comcast Lobo Invitational; Will Play Delaware Tonight At 7:30 p.m. For Tournament Championship
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  09/06/2003
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Sept. 6, 2003

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The New Mexico volleyball team improved to 2-0 in the Comcast Lobo Invitational with a four-game victory over Alcorn State (30-19, 30-20, 26-30, 30-25) Saturday afternoon (Sept. 6) at Johnson Arena. The Lobos will face Delaware, who is also 2-0, tonight at 7:30 p.m. for the tournament championship. Delaware topped Youngstown State earlier today and swept Alcorn State last night.

Three Lobos collected double-digits in kills, including Anna Reines (Sr., Big Lake, Minn.), who once again led the Lobos with 15 kills while hitting .360. Kelly Therkelsen (Fr., Eagan, Minn.) added 11 kills and hit a career-high .421 and Chelsea Sondrup (So., Pleasant Grove, Utah) had 10 kills.

New Mexico hit a season-high .327 for the match and hit an impressive .526 in the second game. UNM also registered 8.5 team blocks. Therkelsen led the Lobos with five blocks (0 solo, five assists) while Sondrup collected four (one solo, three assists).

Thursday, October 02
6:30 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, October 04
12:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. Boise State
Thursday, October 09
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
at San Diego State
Saturday, October 11
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
at UNLV
Thursday, October 16
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. Colorado State
Saturday, October 18
2:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. Wyoming
Monday, October 20
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. New Mexico State
Thursday, October 23
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, October 25
2:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. San Jose State
Thursday, October 30
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
at Boise State
E-News