Three Lobos Named All-MWC
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/05/2007
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 5, 2007

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West Conference announced its 2006-07 women's basketball awards today. The league's nine women's head coaches picked the all conference team, as well as the coach, player, newcomer and defensive awards. The University of New Mexico women's basketball team placed three players on the all-conference teams.

Senior Katie Montgomery was named first team All-MWC. She was second team as a junior and honorable mention as a sophomore. Montgomery leads the Lobos in assists with 3.4 apg and minutes played at 37.7 mpg. She is third on the team in scoring at 12.3 ppg but improved to 13.9 ppg in the MWC season. Montgomery is one of the top outside shooting threats in the league as she led the league in 3-point field goal percentage at 46 percent in conference play and was second in 3-point field goals per game with 2.5 per MWC game.

Senior Julie Briody was named second team All-MWC. This is Briody's first postseason selection. Briody leads the team in scoring at 15.6 ppg, which is third in the MWC. She is currently eighth in the country in free throw percentage at 89.7 percent. Briody is also third on the team in rebounding at 5.4 rpg and assists with 1.8 apg. This season Briody improved her points per game 10.3 points from 5.3 ppg in her career to 15.6 ppg this season.

Junior Dionne Marsh was also named second team All-MWC. She was a first team selection as a sophomore and third team selection as a freshman. Marsh is second on the team in scoring and fourth in the MWC at 14.6 ppg. She leads the team in rebounding at 6.7 rpg, which is ninth in the conference. Marsh also leads the team and is fourth in the MWC in field goal percentage at 45.3 percent. In conference play Marsh has led the Lobos in scoring and rebounding at 14.4 ppg and 7.0 rpg.

A list of the MWC Awards and All-Conference teams:

First Team All-MWC:

Katie Montgomery, Sr., G, New Mexico

Dani Wright, Sr., C, BYU

Adrianne Ross, Jr., F, TCU

Morga Warburton, So., G, Utah

Second Team All-MWC:

Julie Briody, Sr., G, New Mexico

Dionne Marsh, Jr., F, New Mexico

Mallary Gillespie, Jr., G, BYU

Sequoia Holmes, Jr., G, UNLV

Ashley Davis, Sr., G, TCU

Justyna Podziemska, Jr., F, Wyoming

Third Team All-MWC:

Sara Hunter, Jr., G, Colorado State

Kalee Whipple, Fr., F, Utah

Alecia Steele, Jr., F, Air Force

Shamela Hampton, So., C, UNLV

Quenese Davis, Fr., G, San Diego State

Honorable Mention All-MWC:

Melinda Johnsen, Sr., G, BYU

Lauren Riley, Jr., C, BYU

Shanna Demus, Jr., F, San Diego State

Hanna Biernacka, Sr., F, TCU

MWC Co-Players of the Year:

Dani Wright, Sr., C, BYU

Adrianne Ross, Jr., F, TCU

MWC Newcomer of the Year:

Justyna Podziemska, Jr., F, Wyoming

MWC Defensive Player of the Year:

Sequoia Holmes, Jr., G, UNLV

MWC Coach of the Year:

Jeff Judkins, BYU