LoboTV
Lobo 2011 Baseball Alumni Weekend
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  09/19/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Sept. 19, 2011

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The University of New Mexico's baseball team is hosting their 2011 Alumni weekend Sept. 23-25. The weekend will include a championship ring ceremony, a social, a golf tournament, and will end with the alumni vs. alumni baseball game. The big highlight of the weekend will be the 2011 UNM Mountain West Tournament Championship baseball team being introduced on Saturday at the homecoming football game.

On Thursday, Sept. 22, at 6 p.m., alumni Ernie Blackstone will host a social for all UNM baseball alumni and friends of the program at Coaches Sports Grill. Directly following the social at 7 p.m., the UNM baseball team will hold a ring ceremony commemorating the 2011 Lobos’ squad that won the conference tournament championship last season. The ring ceremony is open to the public and Lobo fans are encouraged to come out and celebrate the team’s first-ever conference championship.

The Lobo baseball golf tournament is on Friday, Sept. 23, at the Desert Greens Golf Course. The tournament is slated to begin at 9 a.m.

Saturday, Sept. 24, concludes the Alumni weekend with the alumni vs. alumni baseball game held at Lobo Field. Notable former Lobos participating in the game are players such as Brian Cavazos-Galvez, Justin Howard and Ryan Honeycutt. Batting practice starts at 9 a.m. with the actual game beginning at 10:30 a.m. The Alumni game will be followed by the UNM football homecoming game at 4 p.m. against Sam Houston State.

During the football game, last season’s MW champion Lobo baseball team will be introduced and recognized as the first Lobo baseball team to bring home the MW championship trophy. The Lobos went into the MW tourney as a team not expected to have much of a shot, coming in as the No. 6 seed, but they proved everyone wrong by reeling off four-straight wins to claim the title.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News