LoboTV
Lobo 2011 Baseball Alumni Weekend
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  09/19/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Sept. 19, 2011

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The University of New Mexico's baseball team is hosting their 2011 Alumni weekend Sept. 23-25. The weekend will include a championship ring ceremony, a social, a golf tournament, and will end with the alumni vs. alumni baseball game. The big highlight of the weekend will be the 2011 UNM Mountain West Tournament Championship baseball team being introduced on Saturday at the homecoming football game.

On Thursday, Sept. 22, at 6 p.m., alumni Ernie Blackstone will host a social for all UNM baseball alumni and friends of the program at Coaches Sports Grill. Directly following the social at 7 p.m., the UNM baseball team will hold a ring ceremony commemorating the 2011 Lobos’ squad that won the conference tournament championship last season. The ring ceremony is open to the public and Lobo fans are encouraged to come out and celebrate the team’s first-ever conference championship.

The Lobo baseball golf tournament is on Friday, Sept. 23, at the Desert Greens Golf Course. The tournament is slated to begin at 9 a.m.

Saturday, Sept. 24, concludes the Alumni weekend with the alumni vs. alumni baseball game held at Lobo Field. Notable former Lobos participating in the game are players such as Brian Cavazos-Galvez, Justin Howard and Ryan Honeycutt. Batting practice starts at 9 a.m. with the actual game beginning at 10:30 a.m. The Alumni game will be followed by the UNM football homecoming game at 4 p.m. against Sam Houston State.

During the football game, last season’s MW champion Lobo baseball team will be introduced and recognized as the first Lobo baseball team to bring home the MW championship trophy. The Lobos went into the MW tourney as a team not expected to have much of a shot, coming in as the No. 6 seed, but they proved everyone wrong by reeling off four-straight wins to claim the title.

Saturday, April 19
11 - 6 (W)
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News