Lobo Volleyball Wraps Up Successful Spring Season
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/23/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 23, 2008

  • Grass Bash 2008 Information Sheet
  • Grass Bash Registration

    ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- The University of New Mexico volleyball team finished the 2008 spring season with a 10-3 record, following last weekend's 3-1 performance at the UNLV Spring Tournament. The Lobos earned 2-0 wins over Arizona State, UNLV and Montana and lost a tough three-game match to Arizona.

    "The UNLV Tournament was very good for us," said Lobo head coach Jeff Nelson. "We had the opportunity to play some very good teams and had a lot of success. I was particularly impressed with our blocking and the way we attacked the ball. Jeanne Fairchild continued her high level of play, while Anna Lehne, Jade Michaelsen, and Kelsi Phillips had great performances. The tournament was a great team effort and a fantastic way to close out our spring schedule."

    The Lobos will host one more event before taking finals and preparing for their China Trip at the end of May.

    Grass Bash is set for Sunday, April 27 at the Johnson Fields. Registration begins at 7:30 a.m. with play beginning at 8:30 a.m.

    The second annual grass volleyball tournament features six adult divisions, a college division, and three divisions for girls, ages 18 and under. Registration for adult teams is set at $20, while college and girls teams register for $15. Awards will be given in each division.

    Adults - $20/team
    Women's Open
    Women's A Division
    Men's Open
    Men's A Division
    Co-Ed Doubles
    Co-Ed Fours

    Students - $15/team
    University Groups Fours
    18 & Under Girls
    15 & Under Girls
    12 & Under Girls

    For more information, contact Jackie Bernardin at unmvbcamps@yahoo.com or 277-6291.

  • Thursday, August 20
    6:30 PM - 
    vs. Cherry vs. Silver
    Friday, August 28
    8:00 AM - 
    at Belmont
    3:00 PM - 
    at Albany
    Saturday, August 29
    5:00 PM - 
    at Ball State