LoboTV
Lobos Beat Northern Iowa, 10-2
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/08/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 8, 2008

Box Score

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. --- Junior Willy Kesler picked up his third win of the season for the Lobos as New Mexico beat Northern Iowa, 10-2, today in the second round of the Metrodome Tournament in Minneapolis. Kesler is now 3-0 on the season as the Lobos improved to 8-4.

The Lobos got on the scoreboard quickly in the bottom of the first inning. Centerfielder Max Willett scored on a Matt Hibbitts single, followed by Kevin Atkinson stealing home to give UNM a 2-0 lead.

Senior Ian Hollick added another run for the Lobos in the fourth, getting on base with a double then scoring on a single by Adam Courcha, 3-0.

In the sixth inning, the Lobos added three runs on a bases-loaded double by Scott Gracey, 6-0, to score Drew McDonald, Hollick, and Dane Hamilton. Atkinson and McDonald led the Lobos with two hits each.

Northern Iowa (4-6) snuck in two runs in the top of the seventh on a Brett Featherston two-run home run off reliever Clinton Cox, cutting the Lobo lead to 6-2. Cox got two ground outs to stop the Panthers offense.

The Lobos added four more runs over the seventh and eighth innings to preserve the win for Kesler. Taylor Sinclair (1-1) look the loss for UNI.

Kesler gave up only two hits over five scoreless innings, walking one and striking out a season-high eight batters. Brandon Hewett finished the game with two innings of no-hit, no-run ball. The Lobo staff only walked one batter on the day for the second game in a row.

The Lobos wrap up the Metrodome Tournament on Sunday, March 9, at 11 a.m. against #18/#26 California.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News