LoboTV
BYU Tops Lobo Volleyball In Four Games
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  10/30/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Oct. 30, 2004

Box Score

PROVO, Utah - BYU defeated the New Mexico volleyball team in four games, 19-30, 30-26, 24-30, 21-30, Saturday night at Smith Fieldhouse on the BYU Campus. The Lobos return to action next Friday, Nov. 5 with a home match vs. Air Force at the Johnson Center, beginning at 7 p.m. UNM hosts the annual Alumni Match Saturday, Nov. 6 at 7 p.m.

Juniors Chelsea Sondrup and Nicole Ryan led the Lobos (7-15, 1-10 Mountain West) with 11 kills each. Sondrup also put down six blocks and hit .429 for the match, while Ryan collected five digs. Sophomore Jennifer Heasty hit a season-high .381 (10K-2E-21TA) to go along with a match-high seven blocks. Senior Monica Meihack dished out 40 assists and senior Adah Burke dug a match-high 15.

The Lobos were outmatched in game one, 30-19, but bounced back to take game two, 30-26. The Lobos, who hit .282 in the game, never trailed in claiming the second game. Although UNM hit .306 in the third game, BYU was even better, hitting for a .371 attack percentage in winning the game, 30-24. BYU dominated the fourth and final game, attacking for a .438 percentage in the 30-21 victory.

BYU (14-9, 6-4 MWC), which hit .305 for the match, was led by Erica Lott and Linsday Hartsock, who each collected 13 kills.

Thursday, October 02
6:30 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, October 04
12:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. Boise State
Thursday, October 09
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
at San Diego State
Saturday, October 11
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
at UNLV
Thursday, October 16
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. Colorado State
Saturday, October 18
2:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. Wyoming
Monday, October 20
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. New Mexico State
Thursday, October 23
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, October 25
2:00 PM - 
Volleyball
vs. San Jose State
Thursday, October 30
7:00 PM - 
Volleyball
at Boise State
E-News