LoboTV
DJ Peterson Named Golden Spikes Award Semifinalist
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/29/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 29, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - University of New Mexico sophomore third baseman DJ Peterson has been named a semifinalist by USA Baseball for the Golden Spikes Award, which is given annually to the best amateur player in the country. There were 30 players named semifinalists, and he is one of only five sophomores on the list.

Peterson is having a fantastic season, having already earned Mountain West Co-Player of the Year honors in addition to being named to USA Baseball's National Collegiate Team. He is currently leading the nation in total bases (174), is second in RBIs (76) and slugging percentage (.734), is fourth in hits (99), and ranks sixth in batting average (.418).

"DJ is a first-class kid," UNM head coach Ray Birmingham said. "He has grown and matured as a baseball player and as a person. He is another in a line of great Lobo hitters and will be playing on TV someday.

"He represents the University of New Mexico at the highest level."

In 2007, USA Baseball instituted a new selection and balloting procedure for the most prestigious award in amateur baseball, and it will follow the same model again in 2012. After working closely with sports information directors and amateur baseball media across the country to determine watch lists and the top-performing athletes, a committee voted to determine the 30 semifinalists. A ballot featuring the names and accomplishments of the 30 semifinalists will now be sent to a group of more than 215 voters which will select the three finalists and eventual winner. Fans will also have a say as to who wins the award this year.

Beginning today fans can show their support and vote for Peterson by clicking here. Voting closes at 3 p.m. (MT) on Friday, June 1, and three finalists will be named on Tuesday, June 5.

Peterson has helped lead the Lobos to back-to-back Mountain West Tournament championships and into the postseason for a third consecutive year. UNM travels to Los Angels to face the University of San Diego Toreros at 4 p.m. (MT) on Friday, June 1.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News