LoboTV
Hamilton Breaks UNM Record As Lobos' 6th Pick in '09 MLB Draft
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  06/11/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

June 11, 2009

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- Four seasons of college baseball paid off for the University of New Mexico's Dane Hamilton on Thursday morning when he became the sixth Lobo to hear his name called in the 2009 First-Year Player Major League Baseball Draft. Hamilton, selected as a second baseman, was taken in the 41st round by the San Diego Padres.

Hamilton's pick set a new standard for future New Mexico players. As the sixth Lobo drafted the 2009 group becomes UNM's largest draft class, surpassing the class of 1985.

Hamilton, a senior from Grand Junction, Colo., was the starting third baseman for the Lobos in 2009 before a thumb injury sidelined him in late April. Hamilton is the second Lobo drafted in 2009 who is the son of a former pro baseball player. His father, Jamie, played in the Angels organization. Dodgers 12th round pick Brian Cavazos-Galvez' father, Balvino, pitched for several MLB teams.

Historical Note: The 1985 Lobo draft class included Jim Fregosi (2nd round, Cardinals), Rod Nichols (5th, Indians), Bret Davis (9th, Mariners), Dean Duane (19th, Royals), Greg Hall (23rd, Padres), and Jay Slotnick (free agent, Expos/Nationals).

Lobo 2009 MLB Draft Class
6th Round: Cole White, Kansas City Royals
12th Round: Brian Cavazos-Galvez, Los Angeles Dodgers
14th Round: Mike Brownstein, Milwaukee Brewers
20th Round: John Hesketh, Seattle Mariners
27th Round: Cameron Monger, San Diego Padres
41st Round: Dane Hamilton, San Diego Padres

Lobo signee Austin House was selected in the 25th round by the Boston Red Sox.

Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News