LoboTV
Lobo Softball Set To Participate In Judi Garman Classic
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/11/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 11, 2009

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- New Mexico softball (8-10) will travel to Fullerton, Calif., to participate in the Judi Garman Classic hosted by Cal State Fullerton March 11-15. The Lobos will play five games during the tournament including defending national champion Arizona State Thursday at 10 a.m. MT. UNM faces four NCAA Tournament teams this weekend and three teams that reached the World Series. Gametracker will be available for selected games but the schedule is undetermined at this point. Check www.GoLobos.com for gametracker links.

This week's tournament is among the finest in the nation, attracting some of the best softball talent from across the country. Of the 17 teams competing this weekend, nine are currently ranked among the top 25 teams in the nation with another team receiving votes. In addition, four of the teams are ranked in the top 10 in one poll or another.

Below is a complete tournament schedule for the Lobos:
Thursday, March 12 - Lobos vs. Arizona State - 10 a.m.
Friday, March 13 - Lobos vs. Arizona - 12 p.m.
Saturday, March 14 - Lobos vs. DePaul - 10 a.m. & Lobos vs. Nebraska - 2 p.m.
Sunday, March 15 - Lobos vs. Louisiana-Lafayette - 4:30 p.m.

Lobo softball split a four-game series last weekend with Iowa State at Lobo Field. New Mexico won both games Saturday before falling in to the Cyclones twice Sunday. Senior Samantha Hughes hit .563 during the weekend for UNM with three doubles, nine hits, six runs scored and an RBI. New Mexico hit .368 as a team during the weekend and is 8-10 on the season.

After the Garman Classic, UNM will travel to Seattle, Wash., to play a double head with Seattle and a three-game series with Washington.

UNM is hitting .308 as a team and has five hitters batting over .300 this season. Junior Shaunte Duarte leads the team with a .429 average. Senior Samantha Hughes is hitting .403 with a team-leading 25 hits, eight doubles, three home runs and 18 runs scored.

Senior Analise Rubalcava is 5-6 on the year with a 4.16 ERA. Rubalcava went 2-2 last weekend against Iowa State. The Chandler, Ariz., native has pitched 69 innings and made seven starts.

Friday, March 27
7:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Sunday, March 29
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Thursday, April 02
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Friday, April 03
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, April 04
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, April 07
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, April 08
11:00 AM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Friday, April 10
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Saturday, April 11
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Sunday, April 12
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Softball
at New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
E-News