Coronado, Peters Win Gold On Day Three of MWC Championships
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/12/2007
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 12, 2007


SAN DIEGO - Sophomore Katie Coronado and junior Tiyana Peters took care of business as expected on Friday at the San Diego State Sports Deck. The top-ranked pair won the javelin and high jump, respectively, to lead the University of New Mexico on the third day of the Mountain West Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships. Coronado became the first woman's javelin conference champion in UNM history, while Peters joined Aura Cook (1993) as the only New Mexico woman to sweep indoor and outdoor titles in the high jump.

The New Mexico women finished day three in fourth place with 40 points - just five behind third place San Diego State. The UNM men were tied with TCU for fifth place with a score of 19. BYU leads both the men's and women's standings with scores of 69 and 101, respectively.

Coronado used a throw of 162' 2" (49.44m) on her final attempt to distance herself from the field. The Ruidoso, N.M. product finished over six feet beyond the runner-up. She also earned all-MWC honors for the second straight year after finishing second behind Air Force's two-time national champion Dana Pounds in 2006.

Sophomore teammate Vanessa Strobbe scored for the second year in a row, finishing eighth with a mark of 130' 1" (39.64m).

Peters, meanwhile, maintained her season-long consistency, clearing 5' 8 ¾" (1.75m) on her first try to hold off defending outdoor champion Mindy Neely of BYU (5' 8 ¾" - second attempt). Peters opened the competition when the bar moved to 5' 5" (1.65m) and used just one attempt each to clear her first three heights. The Flanders, N.J. product won the 2007 MWC indoor high jump crown in February in Albuquerque with a leap of 5' 10".

Sophomore Sandy Fortner placed fourth, matching her season-best with a jump of 5' 5" (1.65m). Peters and Fortner combined for 15 points in the high jump. Fortner was also fourth in the heptathlon on Thursday.

Elsewhere in the field event finals, senior Dan Feltman earned all-conference honors for the second time in his career and first in the javelin with a runner-up finish in the javelin. Feltman, the 2005 MWC decathlon champion, turned in a career-best and NCAA regional qualifying mark of 202' 9" (61.80m) on his fifth throw. The Deming, N.M. native has missed much of his final campaign with nagging leg injuries.

UNM sophomore Anthony Fairbanks did not fare as well, however, finishing sixth with a mark of 194' 2" (59.19m). Fairbanks entered the meet ranked No. 1 in the event with a season-best of 217' 10", but threw under 200 feet for the first time this spring.

Air Force senior Matthew Schwandt won the event with a mark of 207' 2" (63.14m).

On the track, meanwhile, junior Joseph Garcia earned all-MWC honors for the first time in his career with a second place finish in the 10,000 meters. Garcia crossed the finish line in 31:13.61 - 23 seconds behind Air Force's Sean Houseworth. Garcia became the first Lobo since Ben Ortega in 2004 to earn all-conference honors in the event.

On the women's side, sophomore Sheyenne Lewis finished fourth in her first career 10K with a time of 36:29.95. The Gallup, N.M. product was also making her first appearance at the MWC Outdoor Championships.

In other finals action, freshman Kelly McCabe finished seventh in the 3,000-meter steeplechase (11:29.32), while fellow rookie Alesha Walker was eighth in the long jump (19' 2 ½" - 5.85m). Sophomore Sarah Swartwood scored for the first time at the MWC meet, placing eighth in the hammer with a career-best throw of 158' (48.16m).

Five Lobos advanced to Saturday finals on the track, including three men in the 400. Junior Jarrin Solomon cruised in, winning his heat with the third-fastest time of day (47.54). Sophomore Taylor Siemon (49.05) and junior Kurt Henry (49.21) were seventh and ninth, respectively, in the prelims. Henry's time matched a career-best.

Colorado State's Drew Morano, the 2007 MWC indoor champion in the event, won heat one with a time of 46.15 - the fastest time in the conference this year.

In the women's 400, junior Ariel Burr, the '07 MWC indoor champion, recorded a season-best time of 53.49 (second) to advance to the finals for the third straight year.

Senior Mark Lamb also advanced in the men's 110 hurdles with a time of 14.93 (seventh) in the prelims.