LoboTV
Sean Murray Shines As Baseball Blasts Air Force, 20-4
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/15/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 15, 2004

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - What a way to go out. Playing in his last home game, senior co-captain Sean Murray tied a school record with six runs and went 5-for-5 with three RBI as the New Mexico baseball team crushed Air Force, 20-4, Saturday night at Isotopes Park. Murray, who was one of only 77 students in the nation to receive the prestigious Truman Scholarship, will miss the next five Lobo home games due to a Truman leadership conference held next week in Liberty, Mo.

In addition to the big win, the Lobos (17-9 Mountain West, 21-25-1 overall) moved within a game of league-leading UNLV with only four conference games remaining. The Rebels (18-8 MWC) split a doubleheader with Utah on Saturday. UNM hosts UNLV for a three-game series next week (May 20-22).

New Mexico pounded out 23 hits in the contest, including 10 extra-base hits. Joe Salas hit two doubles and a triple and scored three runs, Daniel Stovall went 3-for-4 with three runs and a two-run homer, and Jeff Grady nailed his eighth home run of the season. Matt Foote, Matt Young, Josh Mader and Ryan Barba all collected two hits apiece.

Karsten Gaarder, in his first conference start of the season, allowed three runs, two earned, and struck out five in five innings of work to earn his third win of the season. Petr Pacas struck out four in two innings of relief.

New Mexico led 9-2 after four innings, but blew the game open with a seven-run fifth inning on seven hits. The Lobos added two runs in the sixth and single runs in the seventh and eighth innings.

Air Force (5-40, 0-21 MWC) tallied seven hits in the contest. Mitch Brown (0-6) took the loss after giving up six runs and six hits in three innings.

The Lobos and Falcons will conclude the series tomorrow at Isotopes Park at noon.

Thursday, April 17
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Friday, April 18
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News