LoboTV
Lobos Fall 8-2 At Fifth-Ranked Oregon State
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/30/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 30, 2006

Box Score

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Fifth-ranked Oregon State handed New Mexico an 8-2 loss Sunday afternoon in Corvallis, winning the season series 3-1. The Lobos, now 27-18 overall, have lost five straight games, the team's longest losing streak of the season.

The Beavers took a 3-0 lead in the second thanks to a leadoff double from first baseman Bill Rowe followed by three singles.

Freshman right fielder Dane Hamilton got New Mexico on the board in the third, leading off with a double to left center and moving over to third on a sacrifice from freshman catcher Zach Arnett. Senior shortstop Ryan Barba drove in Hamilton with a single to left center.

Oregon State added another run in the fifth followed by four in the sixth. Center fielder John Wallace singled and scored in both innings while shortstop Darwin Barney walked in the fifth and drove in two runs with a one-out single up the middle in the sixth.

Sophomore third baseman Ian Hollick doubled in the seventh and scored on a two-out single to right center from Arnett. Trailing 8-2, the Lobos had runners on base in both the eighth and ninth but couldn't connect, grounding out three times in the eighth and into a double play in the ninth.

Hollick, junior first baseman Chris Carlson and junior designated hitter Daniel Stovall all went 2-for-4 to lead UNM at the plate. Darwin was 3-for-4 with two RBI while Wallace was 3-for-5 with a RBI and run scored to lead the Beavers. Third baseman Shea McFeely went 2-for-3 with a team-high two runs scored.

Daniel Turpen earned the win, going 6.1 innings for seven hits and two runs with two strikeouts. Senior Jesse Perez suffered his first loss, allowing 11 hits, eight runs (six earned), three walks and a strikeout in 5.1 innings. Junior Quentin Andes threw 2.2 scoreless innings of relief, allowing three hits with a strikeout.

The Lobos return to conference action Thursday at 7 p.m., beginning a three-game series at BYU. The Lobos have won seven straight full conference games.

Thursday, April 17
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Friday, April 18
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News