LoboTV
Lobo Softball Defeats Utah, 4-2
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/04/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 4, 2008

Box Score

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah --- New Mexico softball defeated Utah, 4-2, Friday at Ute Field. The Lobos scored four runs early and held on to improve to 17-13 overall and 2-1 in the Mountain West Conference. Utah dropped to 18-18 on the season and 1-2 in the MWC. UNM was led by freshman Tianna George who went 2-for-3 with a home run.

New Mexico scored twice in the first inning on a bases loaded single by junior Analise Rubalcava. Rubalcava's base hit to right center allowed junior Samantha Hughes and freshman Gabriella Parra to score. Hughes and Parra both reached on a walk.

George led off the second inning with solo home run down the left field line. The shot hit the foul pole and was her fourth long ball of the year. UNM added another run in the second inning on a run-scoring single by Parra. Parra plated Hughes who walked for the second time in the game. UNM led 4-0 after the first two innings.

Utah scored its first run of the game in the fourth inning. Angie Boardman led off the inning with a single to center field and later scored on a run-scoring single by Sharee Fonoti. The Utes added another in the sixth to cut the deficit to 4-2. Utah had two hits in the sixth inning and had two runners left on base.

Senior Kelly Ninemire got the win and improved to 12-9. Freshman Madelyn Machac was credited with the save.

Ashley Smuda took the loss for Utah and fell to 11-9.

The Lobos and Utes will play Saturday at 1 p.m. Gametracker will be available for the game on www.GoLobos.com.

Friday, April 18
3:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Saturday, April 19
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News