LoboTV
Three-Run Seventh Gives Rebels 7-5 Win over Lobos
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/01/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 1, 2010

Box Score

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - The University of New Mexico Lobo baseball team fell to the UNLV Rebels, 7-5 tonight at Wilson Stadium. The Lobos took a 5-4 lead into the bottom of the seventh inning when UNLV's Brandon Bayardi hit a three-run home run into left field to put the Rebels on top, 7-5. The Lobos fall to 17-10 on the season and 4-3 in Mountain West Conference play. The Rebels improve to 16-10 and 2-2.

Freshman Alex Allbritton and senior Daniel Gonzalez led the Lobos at the plate going 2-for-4 and 2-for-3, respectively with 2 RBIs each. Seniors Chris Juarez and Cameron Smith each went 2-for-4 on the night. Senior Justin Howard saw his 27-game hitting streak come to end tonight going, 0-for-4. Howard's hitting streak was the fifth-longest in school history.

Senior Edwin Carl (4-2) picked up his second loss of the season throwing 3.1 innings, giving up three runs on two hits. Carl had four strikeouts on the night.

The Lobos will face the Rebels in game two of the three-game series on Friday at 8 p.m. MT. For more information, visit www.GoLobos.com.

Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Tuesday, April 21
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:30 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
E-News