Lobos Duo Named to Capital One First-Team Academic All-District Team
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/04/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 4, 2011

Academic All-District Get Acrobat Reader

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- The University of New Mexico women's basketball team had two players named to the 2010-11 Capital One First-Team Academic All-District VI Team Thursday afternoon. Senior Amanda Best and junior Lauren Taylor were both named First-Team Academic All-District for their outstanding performance, both in the classroom as well as on the court.

First-team Academic All-District ® honorees advance to the national Capital One Academic All-America® Team ballot, where First, Second and Third Team All-America honorees will be selected later this month.

This is the first time the women's basketball team has had two players named to the Academic All-District Team in a single season. New Mexico was also the only school in District VI to have two players named to the First-Team.

Without question, both Best and Taylor shine in the classroom. Both are Biology majors and sport perfect 4.0 GPAs. Both also contribute greatly to the Lobos' on-the-court success.

An honorable-mention All-Mountain West Conference performer last year, Best leads the Lobos in both scoring and rebounding this winter. Best was averaging 9.9 points and 6.8 rebounds per game entering Wednesday night's game against Air Force.

Taylor ranks fourth all-time in career free-throw percentage at 81.8 percent. She's started 13 of the 19 games for the Lobos this season, averaging 8.9 points and 2.2 rebounds per game.

In order to be eligible for the team, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.30 cumulative grade point average, must have competed in at least 50 percent of the team's games and must be in at least their second season of competition at their current school.

The teams were selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). CoSIDA District VI is comprised schools from the states of Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Louisiana, Mississippi and Arkansas.

Also named to the first team in District IV was Yvonne Anderson of Texas, Mary Kathryn Govero of Mississippi State and Danielle Robinson of Oklahoma.