LoboTV
Carlson Named To ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Team
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/30/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 30, 2006

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Junior designated hitter Chris Carlson was honored of the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America first team announced this morning by the College Sports Information Directors Association (CoSIDA). This is his second nomination to the All-America team, placing on the second team last season.

The Topeka, Kan. native maintained a 3.69 GPA in General Management while performing exceptionally on the field. He finished the 2006 season with a .366 batting average, 63 runs scored, 79 RBI and 21 home runs. Carlson ranks nationally in home runs (15th) and RBI (24th). He started all 59 games for UNM, seeing limited time at first base. He was also named to the All-MWC first team and the MWC All-Tournament team.

FIRST TEAM
Pitcher - Edward Degerman, RICE - 3.37, Economics
Pitcher - Ryan Bird, SAINT LOUIS - 3.91, Finance
Catcher - Zach Dillon, BAYLOR - 3.86, Sport Management
Infield - Mike Priest, CAMPBELL - 3.90, Biology/Pre-Medicine
Infield - Ryan Mitchell, LIPSCOMB - 4.00, Biology
Infield - Mike Ambrose, CHARLOTTE - 3.92, Psychology
Infield - Brandon Buckman, NEBRASKA - 3.48, Civil Engineering
Infield - Marc Maddox, SOUTHERN MISSISSIPPI - 3.79, Business Admin.
Outfield - Phillip Coker, CHARLESTON - 3.93, Bio-Chemistry
Outfield - Jacob Stover, ARKANSAS-LITTLE ROCK - 4.00, Health Sciences
Outfield - Emeel Salem, ALABAMA - 3.90, Marketing/Spanish (double major)
Utility/DH - Chris Carlson, NEW MEXICO - 3.69, General Management

Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News