Spencer Levin Named Semifinalist for 2005 Ben Hogan Award
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/25/2005
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 25, 2005

NORMAN, Okla. - Junior Spencer Levin of the University of New Mexico men's golf team has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2005 Ben Hogan Award by Bank of America, in cooperation with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA). The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Levin has finished in the top-10 in seven of eight tournaments the Lobos played in this season. Last summer Levin was low amateur at the U.S. Open finishing in the top-15. Levin also won the California State Amateur, Scratch Players Championship, Porter Cup Championship and was a member of the U.S. World Team.

Other semifinalists include former NCAA medalist Alejandro Cañizares of Arizona State; East Tennessee State,s Rhys Davies; Oklahoma State,s Pablo Martin; U.S. Amateur, U.S. Public Links and NCAA Champion Ryan Moore of UNLV; Indiana,s Jeff Overton; Aron Price of Georgia Southern; Pepperdine,s Michael Putnam; Matthew Rosenfeld of Texas; and Georgia Tech,s Nicholas Thompson.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce three finalists on April 20. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 14 at Colonial Country Club the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening.

2005 The Ben Hogan Semifinalists (in alphabetical order)

Alejandro Cañizares, Arizona State

Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State

Spencer Levin, New Mexico

Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State

Ryan Moore, UNLV

Jeff Overton, Indiana

Aron Price, Georgia Southern

Michael Putnam, Pepperdine

Matthew Rosenfeld, Texas

Nicholas Thompson, Georgia Tech