LoboTV
0
0
0
0
Josh Mader Named Mountain West Co-Player of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/24/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 24, 2004

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Junior shortstop Josh Mader (Albuquerque, N.M./Cibola High School) has been named the Mountain West Baseball Co-Player of the Week, the conference office announced Monday afternoon. This marks the second time this season that Mader has earned the award.

Mader led the Lobos to a series win over UNLV at Isotopes Park last weekend, clinching the No. 2 seed and a first-round bye for the Lobos in the MWC Tournament. Overall for the week, he batted .500 (8-for-19) with two homers and seven RBI.

In Thursday's 14-12 series-opening win over the Rebels, Mader tallied a career-high six RBI and went 4-for-4 at the plate, including two home runs. He had an RBI triple in the first inning, a solo homer in the fifth and a grand slam in the sixth. In Saturday's 5-4 win, he went 2-for-4 with an RBI single.

Mader also earned the award April 12.

The New Mexico baseball team travels to Las Vegas this week for the Mountain West Baseball Championship. The Lobos will play their first game Thursday, May 27 at 11 a.m. PT.

Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
Thursday, May 14
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Friday, May 15
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Saturday, May 16
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, May 20
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News