LoboTV
Senior Justin Howard Named to Ping!Baseball All-American Team
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  06/09/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

June 9, 2010

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - University of New Mexico senior Justin Howard has been named to the Ping!Baseball All-American third team today as announced by the website. Howard finished the season leading the country in hits with 119, is tied for the lead in batting average at a .456 clip and is ranked second in the NCAA with 32 doubles.

"It's great to get that recognition from people around the baseball community," said Howard. "I worked hard to be the leading hitter in the nation and the hard work paid off. I couldn't have done any of this without my team. This has been my favorite year of playing baseball because of them. All the memories and friendships I've created have made this the best year. All the awards and accolades are just icing on the cake. I'm very proud to earn this award and it's a great thing to bring back to UNM."

Howard was named to the 2010 Louisville Slugger All-American third team on June 3 and was named All-Mountain West Conference on May 24. On June 8, Howard was selected by the Pittsburgh Pirates with the 717th pick of the 24th round in the 2010 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News